We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
+44 118 973 2269
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (39 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
“pudding” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good food in a relaxed environment. Decor fresh and modern. Service was nicely paced and the live music was good and not obtrusive.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank hxb2017
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your fabulous review, it's always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed everything about their visit so thank you for your kind comments. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am impressed to see that reviews are now being reviewed by the Greyhound management. It gives me hope and inspiration to provide some constructive feedback that I very much hope will be taken seriously. I wrote a previous review relating to an experience from...More

Thank Mattwhu66
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Matthew Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you have noticed my responses to all reviews on this site. I am a great believer in the value of feedback and whilst it is always preferable to be able to resolve a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely restraint & pub. Stumbled across this pub on a drive once and it’s quickly becoming a fave. Superb roast dinner and 5 star service.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ldb737
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your visits so much. My team and I take great pride in our food and service so it is a pleasure to know that we are making a difference to our guests...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Menu and choices are on par with what you'd expect from a fancy pub. Food, quality of ingredients and preparation, is average at best. If you had the price to the equation than it starts being not so interesting. The attitude of staff makes it...More

Thank Laurent S
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laurent Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor although I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit more. We make every dish fresh on site using high quality ingredients at all times and my team pride themselves on the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the greyhound last night for a birthday dinner with my wife and daughter. I'd eaten here on several occasions over the past ten years and have enjoyed the food/service and considered it to be a decent gastro pub. My wife and I both...More

Thank Ben S
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ben, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and I do remember your visit as both Emily and Alex made me aware of the issue with the treacle tart. That particular weekend, for some reason we did have problems with...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This is a classy feeling restaurant more than a pub serving food. The decor is nice and service is friendly and informative. The menu had good choices and we both had steak. The medium rare was well cooked but the medium could have done with...More

Thank weekteuchter
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you liked the menu and choice of dishes available. We do ensure that we check back on every table to ensure that the meals are to our customers' liking so please don't be afraid to...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Expensive pub and restaurant. Food not great . Pricey. Not many choices. The pub and restaurant so beautiful apart from the food not that great!! I have been here 3 times and very disappointed with the food all 3 difference occasionally. Shame though such a...More

Thank angelinawhitee
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Angelina Thank you for your review although I am disappointed that you weren't happy with the food choices or quality. We have a choice of 5 sharing boards, 7 starters, 14 mains and 7 desserts on our standard menu and have specials available Fri...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Love coming to the greyhound, the food is reliably beautiful. You really will have a lovely meal here. Staff are very friendly too.

Thank Emily101010
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Emily Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and I'm thrilled that you have enjoyed your visits so much. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 28 October 2017

The food was very good - excellent fish, although the waitress had an unusual manner - I think it was an attempt at humour ? The bitter options are limited.

Thank Pensioner123
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. My apologies if any offence was caused during your visit, I am sure it was unintentional and I hope that you will return. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 5 out celebrating the completion of a particularly difficult house sale and The Greyhound certainly did not let us down. From the well-paced service to the wonderful food that was well cooked and beautifully presented we had a thoroughly good...More

Thank Hawley_Lady
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your glowing review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your celebration meal. I hope the house sale goes through smoothly and that we see you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chequers
586 reviews
1.48 km away
The Queen's Oak
256 reviews
.83 km away
The Frog & Wicket
275 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
California Country Park
167 reviews
1.70 km away
Leisure Matters
40 reviews
3.16 km away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
131 reviews
3.63 km away
Royal Oak Yateley
47 reviews
3.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jasimmons2016
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Dear Jasimmons Thank you for your contact and I am sorry that your review was missed for a response. I had been falling behind my responses and replied to a number of responses together and as I felt your review required... More
0
Votes
Karl_n_Cas
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Absolutely! With a name like The Greyhound we wouldn't have it any other way. We welcome well behaved pooches and their owners in the bar area and garden, we always have doggy treats on hand and bowls of fresh water. Thanks... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Finchampstead
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2269
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing