We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
+44 118 973 2269
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (42 reviews)
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“pork” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have popped into this pub many times for drinks but never eaten here before until Christmas and the food was excellent. The Sunday dinner was well presented with all the trimmings. The staff were also really attentive - would definitely return!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Buzzie25
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for a lovely review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quiet, very pleasant welcome and service. Well prepared and tasty food. Reasonably priced. No complaints

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank snafu2006
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for the lovely review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please do pop back again soon! All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have driven past this pub for many, many years and have never been in. It always looked nice. So today myself and some friends decided to have a pub lunch there. We drove 12 miles for the lack of hospitality we then received. We...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jack L
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Jack, Firstly please let me apologise for any upset that may have been caused on Sunday. I honestly can't imagine who you spoke to as all of my team are genuinely focused on delivering customer service and I would be shocked if they spoke...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place,attentative yet not annoying staff.Vegan fish and chips was outstanding! Definitely will be back .

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 701agnesea
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review and it's great to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a new year family get together. Was lovely food and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Deff recommend. Just please offer skinny fries as well as chunky chips which not everyone eats.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Cat-Girl25
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We do always have fries so please do let us know next time if that is what you prefer as we're always happy to be flexible on our dishes. Happy New Year and I hope we see you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely charming place, I was served throughout by a young lady called Jasmine. everything she recommended was brilliant. I will visit again

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rod51leonard
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review and Jasmine will be delighted with your comments. I hope we see you back again soon, happy New Year! Vicki

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the first time ever we chose to eat out for a Christmas Lunch. The Greyhound were excellent at managing food allergies in advance and on the day, great for vegetarians with friendly and helpful staff. The food was all excellent - best turkey I’ve...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank fiona-carney
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Fiona Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to have your Christmas Day lunch with us. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us and I shall let Tanwen know that her service was appreciated, she will be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Possibly the best fish and chips I’ve ever had! I visited for my birthday in November and I wasn’t disappointed 🙌🏻. I can’t wait to return. Service can be a little slow but the food made up for it.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jessica L
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jessica Thank you for your review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit and my apologies if the service was slow as that isn't my expectation or standard for the pub. Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The vegan fish and chips was sooooo good! I would encourage everyone to try it! Expensive which is why I haven’t given 5 stars but otherwise great. They also have non alcoholic beer 🍺More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gracebaileymason
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Grace Thank you for your review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. The vegan fish & chips is a fun dish and I'm glad you enjoyed it. We also stock non alcoholic cider as well as alcohol free lager so if this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had dinner and I have been impressed with the location and the warm atmosphere, typical of Christmas. Service has been perfect, staff friendly and kind. Unfortunately, I haven't been particularly happy with food, good quality but, for a Christmas menu my expectations were definitely...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank msago91
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the venue but sorry that our Christmas menu didn't live up to expectations. I'd be interested to know more and get any feedback regarding the Christmas menu so that we can learn/fix for next year...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Kingsley at Eversley
170 reviews
1.74 km away
Warbrook House
312 reviews
2.54 km away
The Casa Hotel
701 reviews
4.00 km away
Dial House Hotel
218 reviews
4.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Frog & Wicket
327 reviews
1.49 km away
Golden Pot
410 reviews
1.67 km away
El Camino restaurant
197 reviews
2.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
California Country Park
194 reviews
2.26 km away
Taylor & Co Master Goldsmiths
19 reviews
3.07 km away
Leisure Matters
58 reviews
3.16 km away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
154 reviews
3.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Emma R
September 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dino237 | Reviewed this property |
to be honest, never seen dogs in the bar area.
1
Vote
jasimmons2016
March 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Dear Jasimmons Thank you for your contact and I am sorry that your review was missed for a response. I had been falling behind my responses and replied to a number of responses together and as I felt your review required... More
0
Votes
Karl_n_Cas
December 30, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Absolutely! With a name like The Greyhound we wouldn't have it any other way. We welcome well behaved pooches and their owners in the bar area and garden, we always have doggy treats on hand and bowls of fresh water. Thanks... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Finchampstead
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2269
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing