We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harvester Pontypool

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ty Felin Fawr Lower Mill Field, Pontypool, Wales
+44 1495 751551
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 551: English reviews
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was reasonable priced. Waiter was very attentive. However the alarm kept tripping making a delay in the service. However food was well cooked and they catered for food allergies well.

Helpful?
Thank Penny N
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Hi Penny, Thanks for your review. That alarm is very frustrating and was caused by kids opening the fire exit doors! But all is fixed now and we hope to see you soon. Geraint More 

Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great menu especially for children service good prices excellent and still had salad bar available enjoyed our christmas lunch emensily

Helpful?
Thank jacquicarey1
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We remember your visit on Christmas Day and we're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed. Don't forget it's never to early to book for this year! Ho Ho Ho!!!! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went here with my partner and 3 sons on Tuesday 3rd of January 2017. We hadn't booked But we were shown straight to a table. We were told on arrival that some items on the menu wasn't available due to the bank holiday the day before being so busy. We decided to eat here any way. My partner ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our employee Mica. She's great with all our guests especially children. Your compliments have been passed on to her. Secondly I would like to apologise for the stock shortages. We offer no excuses here and myself and the Kitchen Manager have took all feedback on board. Thank you More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

During December we've visited for dinner with a large group and a smaller group. Also have done breakfast there. It's consistently spotless with great food and friendly staff. Well done folks!

Helpful?
Thank IrishAmo
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Why.... thank you very much! Great to read such coments and this review has read by all the team :-) More 

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do l start poor service.poor food.dirty toilet rude manager waited one hour for table when some were empty.when seated seats were dirty last resort decent places full or closed

Helpful?
1 Thank keithgoode1956
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you for your feedback regarding this difficult shift. We experienced staff shortages throughout this busy day and we are aware that we did let some of our guests down due to this. I would personally like to apologise for this as it sounds like you were one of the unfortunate ones. Please do not hesitate to contact... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at midday with a family of 7. Showed to our table then told will bring new cutlery straight away as the table hadn't been set after breakfast. 15 mins later another waitress came to take our order we told her that we still didn't have any Cultery, repsonded with ok will get some now. Waited another 10 mins for... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSilverFox85
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

How disappointing to read and it sounds like your entire visit was ruined by poor service. Do you still have the receipt of your visit? If so then please call me so I can investigate this matter further. Geraint More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't like leaving bad reviews, but I think there's a problem with the dishwasher at this restaurant. After receiving a meal with no cutlery, I had to ask the waitress for cutlery, which she threw across the table and the cutlery we received was dirty. I felt too embarrassed to ask for more cutlery, so went to get some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah O
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, I'd like to thank you for your feedback regarding what seems a very disappointing visit. The errors in service, food quality and cleanliness are not acceptable and for that we apologise. I really hope to see you again soon and if you would like to discuss your visit in more detail then please do not hesitate to call.... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in, a party of seven, to finish the festivities and send our grown up children on their way. Nicola was attentive and efficient from the moment we walked in and totally unfazed by our complicated fussy order. Food was hot, plentiful and arrived quickly. Would have been five stars but the eggs were hard (I said we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for your comments about your visit and especially about Nikola (she's a real favourite here). Nothing wrong about being fussy and I'm not a big fan of hard eggs either so we apologise and will make sure we correct this on your next visit. Geraint More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great place to pop in and set yourself up for the day with an all-you-can-eat breakfast, for less than £8.50.

Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Mark
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Thank you Andy (and Mark). We agree the breakfast can be enough to set you up for the whole day. I see you've only rated us at 3*, please do not hesitate to contact us as the reasons why and how we can improve. Geraint More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It must be said that a previous visit was much more successful... But this one wasn't. Slow to get seated and slow for the food to arrive, but worse, an unreasonable number of menu items were unavailable. The list seemed to grow as we waited. Particularly unfortunate as one of the party is a semi invalid and can only eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Harvester P, General Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thanks for your feedback and we do take it on board. Myself and the kitchen manager are well aware that we had an unacceptable number of items unavailable at the beginning of this month so for that I apologise. However I can ensure you that we have put processes in place to ensure this does not happen again.... More 

Travellers who viewed Harvester Pontypool also viewed

 
Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 
Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to Harvester Pontypool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ty Felin Fawr Lower Mill Field, Pontypool, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Torfaen  >  Pontypool
  • Phone Number: +44 1495 751551
Description
It is next to a Premier Inn

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Harvester Pontypool and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Harvester Pontypool staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?