We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverhead

Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
+64 9-412 8902
Website
Share
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (270)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (41 reviews)
“fish and chips” (35 reviews)
“flounder” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Riverhead
1. Stunning view of the water
"Our meal was the best we have had in the last few years."
99tamsinw
See reviews that mention Stunning view of the water
2. Fresh & Delicious Selection
"The salmon main dish was a hit! recommended! the meatiest ribs in town"
stacejase
See reviews that mention Fresh & Delicious Selection
3. Easter @@lunch@@ get-together
"The food, cocktails and the service exceeded our expectations."
YouAreWorthIt
See reviews that mention lovely lunch
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We took friends from overseas to see this beautiful Resturant, we have never been disappointed here after dining many times. The food is great with such a lovely atmosphere. The staff and service is excellent, friendly and not too in your face. I don’t find...More

Thank Guide22240771143
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed June 26, 2018

A wonderful environment to have a friendly catchup with family and/or friends either just for a drink, a drink with nibbles or experience their wonderful restaurant. You won’t be disappointed. Saturday night is when we went, there was a huge group of patrons in the...More

Thank MareeC76
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thanks for your wonderful review! It was pretty busy all day on Saturday, so we make sure that the team are refreshed and on top of their game. They are usually really good at acknowledgement and smiles, so we'll just remind them of the importance...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Great location and outlook, nice staff, plenty of parking and large area, food and drink is really pricey which is a shame as i see a lot of bikers and hot rodders stopping in and i cant imagine they would want to pay those prices....More

Thank Timetravela1
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, I'm not sure which venue of our you were in when you visited which make you think that we are pricey? Our a la carte restaurant, 'The Landing', offers stunning views across the water and personal table service with meals such as Fish &...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in Landing and absolute winner. Family birthday lunch was very much enjoyed y all of us. Very friendly staff who even entertained our little 2 year old "pocket rocket". Great service of amazing food. All of the dishes were in first looking good,...More

Thank _zorand_nz
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

So good to hear that you and your 'little pocket rocket' enjoyed your time at The Riverhead. That's exactly what we aim to achieve...thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon, kind regards Paula

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a handful of times now and the service is always excellent. Yummy brunch menu. On the pricier side of things but haven’t ever been disappointed.

Thank 787isabellet
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your feedback, really appreciate it. See you next time, cheers Paula

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to The Landing at the Riverhead Tavern for lunch on Friday - a little spontaneous treat for my mother. The location was lovely and we enjoyed a shared lamb shoulder lunch with salad and vegetables. All very pleasant until it came to the...More

Thank laksatwist
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very concerned about this and I would love it if you would call me and have a chat about it...my number is 09 412 902 and ask for Paula (or Juanita). This is certainly not the way we do business and my apologies....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We hadn't been to the Riverhead for a while and was really surprised at the beautiful meals and the excellent service. Not to mention the help with selecting wines. Really enjoyed it and was a most memorable meal, especially given it was for my parent's...More

Thank SarahM15095
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so pleased that you had a wonderful time here with your parents. We love being included in families making memories. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, kind regards Paula

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food and friendly service. Lovely sitting on the deck as the sun went down. Placed our orders and had time to walk down to the wharf.More

Thank Sightsee829142
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Andrew, One of the best things about The Riverhead is its position on the banks that face East. We don't have the sun streaming in as it sets and we can enjoy the view as it changes colours at dusk in the cool of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After hearing great things about the The Riverhead Tavern, we decided to pop in for Labour Day lunch. As the car park was pretty full, we weren't too sure we'd be welcome, however, there was no problem at all and we were promptly accommodated. We...More

Thank Jorged3672
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We so glad you came out on Labour Weekend...It can get quite busy but we can usually fit in people who take the chance of a table without a booking. So glad you enjoyed our menu choices. BTW we will have new summer additions on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had the best meal of our NZ trip Gnocchi to die for and Fish and chips. Lovely ambience and friendly staff. Obviously tried and true run operation.

Thank Anthea L
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Anthea, Yes, this establishment has been around since 1857 so we love to offer good old Kiwi cuisine and hospitality. Thanks for the wonderful review, we do appreciate it, kind regards Paula

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Vineyard Cottages
59 reviews
8.44 km away
Albany Oak Motel
60 reviews
9.69 km away
Albany Executive Motor Inn
36 reviews
10.45 km away
Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre
16 reviews
10.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hallertau Brewery & Restaurant
328 reviews
1.21 km away
The Beekeepers Wife Bar & Eatery
10 reviews
.62 km away
Harvest
18 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huapai Golf Club
8 reviews
1.91 km away
Soljans Estate Winery
97 reviews
3.65 km away
Coatesville Markets
26 reviews
5.84 km away
Senses Massage
5 reviews
6.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah L
February 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vivie313 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do have gluten free options. Their menu is online.
1
Vote
Sarah L
February 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from E141RJpaulap | Property representative |
Hi, the best thing would be to visit our website where the full menu is online and all the dietaries with the dishes. Cheers Paula
0
Votes
shazziec2015
October 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 528martind | Reviewed this property |
A quick phone call should answer your question...I reckon it would be an excellent venue for Christmas day
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Riverhead
  • Phone Number: +64 9-412 8902
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing