We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mermaid at Ellington

High Street | 1 Minute from A14, Ellington, Huntingdon PE28 OAB, England
+44 1480 891106
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (16 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (9 reviews)
“pigeon breast” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Pub, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street | 1 Minute from A14, Ellington, Huntingdon PE28 OAB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

I have recently moved to the area and so went out exploring for new places to eat, during which, I stumbled across this little old pub. From the outside, it looks incredibly cosy as you can see through the bay window into the bar area....More

Thank HolB123
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I am shocked to see the recent reviews, I have eaten here many times including very recently with the new menu (you must try the beef with smoked bone marrow mash!), and it is everything you expect from a high quality establishments like this one....More

1  Thank James M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The attention to detail has gone out the window really disappointed, service really professional, just shame the food don't match the service

Thank antonyhug
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to the Mermaid several times before as the food and menu is always so good!!!! Its local to us and such a great find, however we were SO disappointed with our experience this time, we booked for a Sunday table of 5...More

2  Thank Amzie1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is overpriced for what you get - the food is average and there is not enough of it! I came with my brother and we were both still hungry when we came out. However the staff were very friendly and the service was fast....More

1  Thank IMR87
Nicholas M, Public Relations Manager at The Mermaid at Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. The food you were offered was from our limited menu expressly designed to enable some of our chefs to have some rest after an extremely busy festive period. Our brand new A La Carte Menu has now been launched for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been looking forward to coming here and had booked for last night. The menu was very limited. I am a vegetarian so only had the one option. This was a stir fry which was average. I asked for some chips on the side...More

1  Thank Kerry R
Nicholas M, Public Relations Manager at The Mermaid at Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed that you feel that your experience did not meet your expectations. You are correct in that the menu was limited. We serve a limited menu during the week that you visited us in order to reduce the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start by saying we chose this restaurant based on a recommendation and the fact they cater to a variety of needs, incl vegan, gluten free, etc. They put just as much effort into these menus as their main one and that is refreshing...More

3  Thank Livvy C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Special night, really wanted a great meal. They advertise themselves as special but:- The staff spend most of their time chatting Nice(!) table by the door, locals in and out continuously throuout our meal The staff seem to have no appreciation of what diners want...More

3  Thank MidlandsRocker
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here a while ago and the food was delicious, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere was wonderful, a great place to eat for anybody

1  Thank Olive H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mermaid is a really lovely pub and fantastic restaurant. It is also pretty unique in their accommodation of different diets, palates, and requests!- Our family has enjoyed 2 special birthday meals here. Being a family of 8 with vegans, veggies, pescatarians, a gluten avoider,...More

1  Thank jnmem
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Ellington Hotels
The Old Bridge
512 reviews
8.20 km away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
195 reviews
7.61 km away
Talbot Hotel
1,192 reviews
20.20 km away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
3,209 reviews
14.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cinnamon
46 reviews
2.43 km away
The George of Spaldwick
409 reviews
3.23 km away
Black Rock Grill @ The Manor
84 reviews
4.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
High Harthay Outdoor Pursuits
15 reviews
5.28 km away
Buckden Towers
30 reviews
5.28 km away
Hinchingbrooke Country Park
153 reviews
6.08 km away
The Cromwell Museum
152 reviews
7.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Trustin
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from louisewarland1079 | Reviewed this property |
We spent about £50 a head and had three courses and wine. Worth spending a bit more for the experience. Good food and service !
2
Votes
Aurelia B
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Richard M | Property representative |
Good Afternoon Please may I ask if you are referring to a regular visit or to one of our themed nights - e.g. this evening's Halloween Night? Thank you for your enquiry. Richard.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | 1 Minute from A14, Ellington, Huntingdon PE28 OAB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Huntingdon  >  Ellington
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 891106
  • E-mail
Description
17Th Century village pub in the village of Ellington, five minutes from the junction of the A14 and the A1, where Nick Marriott is creating food with new, exciting flavours, whilst also retaining some of the best traditional favourites. The pub was refurbished in 2014, the first task was to bead-blast the old ships timbers throughout the public bar and the restaurant. Gone are the layers of black paint to reveal wonderful 400 year old oak beams, now oiled to bring out the grain in the wood. Gone are the old carpets - tiles from the Middle East laid to produce a clean, sharp finish. The floor in the bar area has been cleaned to reveal the original 400 year old tiles. Two log burners, one in the bar area, and one in the restaurant, contribute to the welcoming atmosphere. The whole bar and restaurant has been decorated sympathetically in shades of cream and terracotta, which coordinate beautifully with half oak panelling in the bar area. The modern, energy efficient, kitchen has been designed by Nick, and installed from scratch. This is the area where the magic begins! Nick worked towards opening his own pub/restaurant for the past 12 years, starting as "Head Chef" in a Cheltenham Bistro and working his way up at The Plough Bolnhust, The Grove Chandlers Cross London, and latterly as Sous Chef at Bedfordshire's only Michelin Star restaurant, Paris House in Woburn. Nick explains "My passion is preparing food to be visually exciting, whilst enhancing natural flavours with imaginative combinations of spices and herbs". We hope you will enjoy the fruits of his labour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing