We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sosban

North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
+44 1554 270020
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (15 reviews)
“terrine” (16 reviews)
“pork belly” (16 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 966 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This is the first time i have been disappointed as usually meal superb but meal portions getting smaller and i do think potatoes should be part of main meal price not an extra.Meal orders should be taken at table as starter arrived but no drinks...More

Thank chris e
Reviewed 5 days ago

Firstly, you are obliged to order two courses for a Sunday lunch which would be fine if they had anything decent as a starter. We were given a choice of chicken soup with an egg??? salmon broth or goat's cheese ravioli, very limited so we...More

Thank marioncymru
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are sorry to hear that your meal and experience with us was not to your liking. Our current menu has been carefully prepared by our talented Executive Chef and it is receiving overwhelming acclaim and we are very encouraged by the reviews thus far....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Have been to to this restaurant several times before and had a fantastic time and meal. Last night was in a word disappointing and a rip off. We took are respective parents and they both said food was average and far to expensive. Four of...More

1  Thank Matthew g
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for the second time this week and it was superb again! A lot of love and thought goes into all the dishes and the staff are very knowledgeable and keen to make sure you enjoy your stay. And they serve Fanta! Can not recommend...More

Thank T H
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review and for visiting us twice in a week. It's true that a lot of love and thought go into all of our dishes at Sosban so it's great to hear that it's paying such dividends. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

What do you get when you put loads of excited people with alcoholic drinks into an enclosed space with stone floors, stone walls and few furnishings? Noise! And it's such a shame because the food is great and the staff are impeccable. The situation is...More

Thank Haydn J
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our great service. One of the things we love about our building is that it's historic and unique and for us, this is a real selling point....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here for a celebration meal with my partner. We were not disappointed! Lovely venue in an unusual building. There was a large party there when we arrived, staff seemed to manage things very well and were immediately attentive towards us. Menu was small but...More

Thank Anon2636
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thanks very much for your kind review. Our venue is indeed unusual and this is just part of the reason why we love it so much. We are glad that you were able to find something to your taste from our menu and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed the tasting menu with a decent bottle of wine from the extensive wine list. Nice ambience, quiet, decent service if a little amateurish at times, but nothing to carp about. Highlight of the meal was the final passion fruit soufflé course, which ranks amongst...More

Thank chall85496
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our tasting menu and that you chose an accompanying bottle of wine that was to your taste. To hear that our passion fruit dessert is in your top ten...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A very interesting place as it used to be an industrial unit. Very well done with beautiful decor and plenty of room. We were there for lunch and as the place was not very busy, the large area and very high ceilings made the place...More

Thank Pantelis P
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are extremely proud of our historical building and are glad to hear that you were impressed by our setting and decor. We are equally delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and that our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the 5 star food Staff are very helpful and the standard of good is superb .....the surroundings are lovely and all adds to a great night out

Thank adieLlanelli
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that our food, staff and surroundings all contributed to your great night out. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Rhys

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A surprise visit from a friend from out of town was a great excuse to visit this lovely restaurant. Booking a table at short notice and then later changing our seating time to suit travel plans was accepted graciously. The menu described the dishes very...More

1  Thank Heather D
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We always try to accommodate the needs of our guests so it wasn't an issue changing your seating time. Our main concern was ensuring that your visit to Sosban was convenient and enjoyable. From reading your review it's...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bahn Mai Thai
131 reviews
.65 km away
Roti House
162 reviews
.65 km away
Coastal Park Grill
118 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Llanelly House
271 reviews
1.04 km away
The Furnace Theatre
102 reviews
1.15 km away
Millennium Coastal Park Discovery Centre
88 reviews
.24 km away
North Dock Ice Cream Kiosk
17 reviews
1.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kwilliams24
24 August 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Squadault | Reviewed this property |
It is quite obvious that you can't reduce prices and pay for a world class chef . If anything , this would increase costs . I am an acquaintance of numerous Scarlets players - past and present - and feel sure that if Dwayne... More
1
Vote
carolyn h
8 July 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Mark F | Reviewed this property |
Two former rugby players Stephen Jones & Dwayne Peel. I can only assume that they still own it.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$65
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 15:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Carmarthenshire  >  Llanelli
  • Phone Number: +44 1554 270020
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing