We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plough & Harrow

$$ - $$$, British,
770 Chester Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0LR, England
+44 1922 457847
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (11 reviews)
“sea bass” (12 reviews)
“beef” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
770 Chester Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0LR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I wanted to take the time to say how lovely and attentive Caitlin was tonight. She was prompt in taking our drink order and came back very quickly with our drinks. We had a couple of questions about the menu which she answered straight away....More

Thank Emma C
Plough H, General Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Emma C, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Your comments have been passed to Caitlin and the team, along with our thanks for her fantastic commitment to delivering excellent hospitality. We hope you'll be hearing back again soon...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

3rd time here, first time was great, 2nd was appalling, thought we’d try again and very glad we did Both had steak and peppercorn sauce absolutely beautiful cooked to perfection and the best sauce ever Great staff too very friendly and there just when you...More

Thank MrsMuck
Plough H, General Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi MrsMuck, What a lovely review to read! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your steaks with us - be sure to come back soon to head back soon for some money lovely grub! Kindest regards, Joe Field General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago

Have eaten here twice and both times it's been superb! Would definitely recommend to anybody who wants good food at decent prices!

Thank MickyWilliams1210
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi MickyWilliams1210, Really glad to hear you’ve enjoyed your visits here on both occasions. We look forward to seeing you for a third time in the near future. Thank you, Joe Parkes Deputy Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Party of 25, slow service. Not all meals bought out together. Polite staff, would have expected better considering price of food and drinks.More

Thank mandi36
Plough H, Team Coach at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mandi36, Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review I'm sorry to hear at your disappointment on your last visit, WE would like to talk it through with you in more detail over the phone. Our contact number...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions and love it there. The atmosphere and decor are lovely and the staff very friendly. Usually the Food is very good but unfortunately on this visit we were disappointed. We rarely go out on a Friday or...More

Thank Jac8351
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jac8351, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is vital as we look to move the business forward in the future. I'm sorry to hear at your disappointment on your last visit, I would like to talk it...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for Sunday lunch, hadn't booked but were fit in even though the restaurant was busy. Waited 30 minutes for mushroom starter. Quality of sauce was a little disappointing. Needed stronger taste. Beef Sunday lunch arrived quickly but was cold. Very attentive staff arranged replacement...More

Thank mike t
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi mike t, I’m sorry to hear at your disappointment at the quality of the Sunday roast this week. We aim to deliver the best quality food in the area, it seems this time that we have let you down. On a more promising note,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed lunch here on a Monday lunchtime. Food is served all day. We received a warm welcome and good service. The menu has a wide range of items, much more interesting than your usual pub menu. I loved the fig, goat's cheese and hazelnut...More

Thank Diane C
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Diane C, It’s great to read that you enjoyed your visit Monday lunchtime with us. The fixed price option is a very good offer with 2 courses for £11.95 and 3 courses for £14.95. We hope to see you again to try even more...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here Sunday 29th October for Sunday lunch. It was very busy but lovely inside. We all ordered Sunday roast which was excellent. A few years ago we had a couple of average to poor experiences here but the Sunday lunch we had ticked...More

1  Thank Docmatt
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Docmatt, It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday roasts so much. We have recently changed the Sunday Roasts and have had nothing but positive feedback. Your feedback will be passed on to the chefs, as they love hearing they’ve done a good...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lunchtime visit on a Saturday, the place was filling up with a nice buzz about it when we left at 1.30 Salmon tacos to start were superb, a lovely light starter. My wife’s hallowe’en special pumpkin soup also went down well. Spit roast chicken and...More

Thank Raknowles
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Raknowles, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As you say, the pumpkin soup has been a bit of a hit with it being Halloween. We have a few upcoming events...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on Friday 20th. Starters were served promptly, but waited over an hour for mains. The lamb kofters had obviously been plated for some while as the sauce had congealed on the plate and thsalad was warm, very unpleasant. I wouldn't return in a hurry.More

Thank egfholistictherapist
Plough H, Team Coach at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello egfholistictherapist, We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your visit to us on Friday evening. Our team take all feedback very seriously and your comments have been passed onto the team to review our ways of working. If you would like to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Old Irish Harp
662 reviews
1.12 km away
Masala Club
56 reviews
2.24 km away
Laboni
104 reviews
2.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Fairlawns Spa
171 reviews
1.39 km away
Oak Tree Farm
8 reviews
1.40 km away
Aston Manor Road Transport Museum
47 reviews
2.50 km away
Barr Beacon Local Nature Reserve
6 reviews
4.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret D
2 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from sue j | Reviewed this property |
To add to my previous comment they rarely reply to adverse comments it's as if they're not bothered there's lots more competition in the area
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 770 Chester Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Walsall  >  Aldridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1922 457847
  • E-mail
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Plough & Harrow serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing