We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry

$$ - $$$, British,
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
+44 1628 525123
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
“the river” (155 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This is a good place and we will return as we feel it was not at its best when we visited. The location on the river is great in all respects and the restaurant is well kitted out with an upmarket feel reflected in the...More

Thank TONY P
Reviewed 5 days ago

This was an overpriced meal.The service was not great as they were short staffed.My husband was bought the wrong meal and they forgot to bring the wine we had ordered.The meal was very expensive.The scallops were very salty.

Thank eveashe
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our Christmas party at The Ferry. The bar service was mixed....one very friendly barman and one indifferent guy. The restaurant service was good....not slick,,,,,but good. The food was very average......its difficult with mass catering to get all the meals out at once and...More

Thank trevorviegas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We was invited to join in a birthday party in a private room at the Ferry and it was the 'Snug', snug by name and snug in nature the room/s ooze character and ambience apart from the low beams it was the perfect place for...More

Thank Jeff M
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Jeff M Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, We think "the snug" is a fantastic venue and agree that it has great character to it, there is a mixed view on our low beams a few of our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place for lunch or dinner in the summer as you can sit outside on the river. They welcome dogs if you are sitting outside and the food was nice.

Thank chloecj21
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Chloecj21, thank you for leaving us your feedback, It is great to see that you and your dog loved our location as much as we do, We look forward to seeing you here again soon Regards Jack

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite there being over 30 of us dining the service was excellent, food superb & a lovely place. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Excellent range of drinks, beers, wine & cocktails and we tried them all! We had guests from France, Spain, Sweden,...More

Thank Romantics77
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Romantics77 Wow what a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it for us, It can sometimes be difficult getting everything right for larger groups so to see that we managed to do so is amazing, The team will be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having got rather lost trying to get to Chalfont-St-Giles.....we stumbled upon The Ferry. We went in for coffee.... then we had lunch..... then a mini dessert and pot of tea. The food was good, hot and well presented. The ambiance was pleasant and welcoming. It...More

Thank Magicshaz
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Magicshaz, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am delighted to see that we were able to provide a respite from a frustrating journey and that you then chose to spend your afternoon with us, We would love to have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I explained on booking that we were a group including a disabled person and two small dogs. I was reassured this was fine and we would be downstairs as there was no lift. The table was excellent for us with plenty of room and a...More

1  Thank Judy B
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Judy B, Thank you for leaving us your feedback, I would like to start off by apologising for the breakdown in communication that occurred when you visited us last, It is a real shame that this happened as we aim for all our guests to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner for two Saturday eve 8pm 11/11. Ok to begin with staff helpful finding us a table upstairs and drinks orders taken promptly although we asked for tap water in addition to the wine but had to remind them for the tap Water which didn’t...More

Thank jonrosten
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jonroston, Thank you for leaving your feedback, As the manager in charge of the pub for the past week and for the next week as well as the waiter serving you I would like to apologise that you felt like I ignored you, this of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There on a business trip, big table with 20 ppl. Good menu, great timing and good food qlty for me and others. Some colleagues felt disappointed though. Good alcohol choice and desserts

Thank Luca_KTM
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Luca_KTM, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to us, Great to see that we did well and you left feeling happy with your experience, We look forward to seeing you again very soon, Best Wishes Jack Assistant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Oak
647 reviews
.80 km away
The Garibaldi
205 reviews
1.07 km away
The Old Swan Uppers
159 reviews
.88 km away
Andre Garrett at Cliveden
448 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley Spencer Gallery
131 reviews
.26 km away
National Trust Cliveden
783 reviews
1.32 km away
Keg Craft Beer
24 reviews
2.04 km away
Boulter's Lock and Ray Mill Island
252 reviews
3.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simon C
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FerryAdmin | Property representative |
We do, Dogs are allowed in the bar area, and well behaved dogs are allowed in our downstairs Bar/Dining area. I hope this helps and we see you soon
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$54
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Cookham
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 525123
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Ferry serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing