We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon

$$ - $$$Barbecue, ,
The Black Stallion Hills Ranch | 8 mins drive from Tamarindo., Villareal, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
+506 8869 9765
Website
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (539)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (46 reviews)
“bbq meats” (5 reviews)
“steak” (32 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, Central American, Costa Rican, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Black Stallion Hills Ranch | 8 mins drive from Tamarindo., Villareal, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 512 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

First time in the area and we had read some excellent reviews about Black Stallion so went to check it out, cannot reccomend the BBQ enough, it was the best meal we have had since being here and well worth the visit - also Ginger...More

Thank emmacox1981
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much great to meet you all.So happy to read you loved the BBQ dinner. We are getting in motion as the high season gets into gear.Thanks for booking in advance as we need prep time for these BBQ cook offs. Yes Ginger...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Black Stallion is a great place to visit during a visit to Guanacaste!! Super place for locals as well! Absolutely the Best Bar B Que anywhere around! Great for Private Parties too! Had my son's 9th birthday there and it was a smashing success! Offers...More

Thank JoeB2791
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Pleasure having the Big Bash Party for Joey & his friends.That was a super fun afternoon,we do have a cool spot for Family events,every one had a blast. We can go up to 22 kids on the zipline in one tour,so next time lets get...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

By far the best BBQ and hospitality by Alex and his staff at Black Stallion. We celebrated a birthday and had the place all to ourselves. The food was amazing and there was so much of it. Alex gave us a tour of the ranch...More

Thank FarAway32683040825
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hola.Big thank you for the super review and a pleasure to meet you. So nice to relax and chat under the stars.Glad to see you enjoyed the ranch and our BBQ cooking style.This week it get bizzy with the zip & BBQs lots of fun...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Food was not only good. It was fantastic. We had a wonderful dinner - BBQ Costa Rican style. But excellent food is not the only thing about this place. Imagine that you are in invited to an old friend’s house for dinner. That’s exactly how...More

Thank IrinaB149
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for the great review.Happy to see you loved the BBQ dinner,next time you visit us definitely do the canopy zipline & BBQ that’s the real ranch adventure. Thanks Again and Pura Vida.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a girls trip in Costa Rica. I had been here a few years ago for ziplining,horseback riding and BBQ tour. This place was definitely one of the highlights of that trip. We wanted to go back because the atmosphere was so chill....More

Thank jodyschlem
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for the great review. We like to do special evenings.That was defiantly a fun & delicious dinner.Happy Birthday to the b-day girl.Hope to see you all soon.thanks again & Pura Vida.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had to come back! 5 years ago friends of mine and I came to Costa Rica and went on a horse ride/ zip line / bbq tour with Alex and the crew. It was the best experience of my life. So, when I came...More

Thank Rachel25678954
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very very much for the great review. yes 5 years ago, yikes ! how times flys...! Happy to read you had a great time again. We are all about being consistant and moving ahead on the ranch. We have been very blessed here...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very enjoyable evening at the Black Stallion BBQ Dinner. Alex, (the owner) picked us up personally to take us to the ranch and I was shocked when he immediately went out of his way by pulling into the beach parking lot to...More

Thank NorthStar78779
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to meet you all and thank you for the great review.We are all about having a fun time and keeping the ranch very Pura Vida.Very happy to read you loved our BBQ cooking style.Yes,next time definatly zip with us after all the rains its...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I zipped with my son we loved it! very safe & very professional guides.We had the BBQ dinner with Canadian family the food was delicious! We will see u around Christmas Thank you for having us. pura vida.More

Thank Ileana M
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review.Pleasure having you on the ranch. Your sons the perfect age for jungle zipping,happy to read you had fun and enjoyed the dinner with family,super nice people,glad you made new friends. Please let us know what date you want to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From booking to being dropped off, we were treated like friends. The crew at Black Stallion was extremely accommodating and we never wanted to leave! Traveling during the rainy season can be tricky but thanks to Alex he was honest and helpful about the best...More

Thank Michelle P
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review a pleasure to meet you both.Glad to see you loved relaxing on the ranch in the rainy season with the odd tropical shower. The 2 hour horse backride and our BBQ combo is our original Black Stallion tour. Congratulations on...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

They cancelled the event the day of but they still charged me. They have not responded to my request for a refund. On top of that I receive an email asking me for a survey on the event that never occurred. Now I’m worried i...More

Thank Mich N
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi we have done nothing fraudulent we cancelled the BBQ due to pouring rain,not much fun in the rain? We did contact u immediately when u booked online.We credited ur card for the full amount of $96.00 takes 2 days to show up on your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Monte Fresco Mountain Suites
1 review
1.38 km away
Los Altos de Eros
783 reviews
4.89 km away
Wyndham Tamarindo
749 reviews
5.13 km away
La Ramona Charming Hotel
64 reviews
5.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
soda y marisqueria marcela
96 reviews
2.38 km away
La Reina Pepiada
15 reviews
2.20 km away
Soda Las Palmas
21 reviews
2.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pinilla Canopy Tour
347 reviews
4.70 km away
Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates
345 reviews
.01 km away
Canopy Vista Tamarindo
34 reviews
.01 km away
Kingpin Sportfishing
135 reviews
4.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joelleen S
December 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Surferchefcowboy | Property representative |
Hi any medical cancelations are automatically credited or we can rescedual what ever you prefer. Pls.zlet us know pura buda.
0
Votes
Judith G
October 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Surferchefcowboy | Property representative |
Hi sure we can BBQ a special veggie dish for u Just let us know when? Thanks Pura Vida.
0
Votes
macyeve
March 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Surferchefcowboy | Property representative |
Yes we can best to zip in the morning or earley afternoon then ATV @ 3 pm then BBQ we will e mail u - thanks Pura Vida!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$55
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Black Stallion Hills Ranch | 8 mins drive from Tamarindo., Villareal, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Tamarindo  >  Villareal
  • Phone Number: +506 8869 9765
  • E-mail
Description
We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing