We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
97
107
29
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
97
107
29
17
4
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 4, 2023

Stopped in to our favourite pub before taking our son to the airport - a family ritual before any flights. What has been a consistently positive experience at Finbars was not to be on this Sunday. Seated as soon as we walked in. 🙂 Order...drinks but sorry no Harp. Oh well. Order apps. After some time, informed there are no mussels. Hmm. Onion rings arrive after too long a wait and are on the slightly greasy side and appear to have been quickly dumped on the plate. Not great. Then the long wait for our mains. We were in no big hurry but when people who came in after us are eating their burgers. Well. The mains finally arrive and two are satisfied with theirs. The shrimp/lobster risotto was an expensive disappointment. Totally dry and kinda lumpy. Our server was flying around, trying to look after all his tables. I was impressed with how he managed but it really didn’t lend itself to a relaxing dining experience. After what has always been such fun and satisfying visits, this was more than a little disappointing. Certainly hoping this is just a rare occurrence.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2023

Service is terrible. Wait up to 20 minutes for drink. Food is ok but often Finbars is out of items affecting the meal ordered; also don’t tell you until you notice.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2023 via mobile

I was ready for some relaxation after a 14 hour work day which ended with me being caught in a snow storm, on my way to Halifax. The amazing service, food & atmosphere recharged my batteries. Great spot if you are a solo traveller &...a people watcher. Lots of “quiet” spots where you can enjoy the atmosphere, fantastic food & drinks & observe the crowd. Staff are just as attentive to one as they are to a table of 10. My new fave in Bedford.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 29, 2023 via mobile

We’ve been to this restaurant several times but the last couple of times we’ve gone the food has not been good. On the latest visit the spinach/artichoke dip had a terrible smell to it and the nachos were lukewarm with about half as many toppings...as there were in the past. The service has always been excellent.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2023 via mobile

I don’t know what happened to Finbars in Bedford but the quality of food has gone downhill. We used to go at least twice a month. New Chef maybe? It no longer has the buffalo wings, my fries were super salty and our nachos hardly...had anything on them. We are residents of Bedford and we have gone twice to the Portland Hill location and it is worth the drive. Our appetizers and food were delicious. Even my salad was better than the Bedford location. An overall better experience in Portland hills location. Better menu and more food as wellMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 11, 2023 via mobile

Nice decor in this place . Menu looks great . Ordered 2 chicken Cesar Salads and 2 beer . Beer was fine but Salads were sad. Small bowl .Almost no sauce or Parmesan cheese. Left there hungry and unhappy with price. Will probably select another...place with more value.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 10, 2022

Yesterday was the first time back since our previous takeout experience. We ate on the enclosed patio. I enjoyed the Islander's Breakfast with a Guinness off the brunch menu, my wife had the chicken sandwich with fries and our son had the grilled cheese with...fries of the kids meal. The meals were up to Finbars usually excellent standards. We all enjoyed the heated patio and music.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2022

Nice! Thank you so much for the kind words!

Reviewed October 22, 2021

My colleagues went to lunch at this establishment today. We arrived at 12:05 ordered at 12:20 and as it was fast approaching 1pm we told our server we needed to go back to work. We then asked for our food to go as it was...12:55. Our food came out at 1:10 pm. Worst customer service on the planet and to make it sting even more they didn't offer a discount, just a sorry apology. Ok we know people are short staffed but due to COVID but on a Friday if your know you are busy as they stated then don't have 100% capacity. They brought out some nachos which were stale I might add but I can tell you it won't be enough to ever have us go back.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2021

I don't usually dispute this stuff but this is a total mischaracterization. You will not be missed at Finbar's. Cheers.

Reviewed October 7, 2021

My dinning experience at Finbarr’s was second to none. Not only was the food an absolute masterpiece but it was all topped off with, in my opinion, the absolute best waiter I’ve ever had. He was everything imaginable. He was fast, efficient, and even made...my companion tammy a custom mojito, that, in all honesty, should be part of the regular menu. Brad elevated this dinning experience too a completely different level, taking what could have been no more than a normal evening out at a pub and turning it into a five-star extravaganza. 10/10 phenomenal services and undoubtably delicious food too. ~Geoffrey Thompsons’ officeMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

Whoa. Five-star extravaganza?! Thank you!

Reviewed October 7, 2021 via mobile

Absolutely love this gem of a pub. Boxty of the day is always a win. The sticky toffy pudding is A1. All the servers are always great however Brad is exceptional. He was personable , efficient and funny. I wanted to try something different. Asked...him to make me a mojito with a girly twist. Let me tell you it was good. Should be on the drink menu in my opinion. The only complaint I have is a couple years ago they took the pocket burger off the menu. Still lots if amazing options but it was one of my favorites. Thanks for always giving me a great experience Finbars. Tammy BrinsonMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

Thanks Tammy! I will make sure Brad gets the compliment. ;)

Reviewed October 1, 2021

I was very excited to have a meal at Finbars. When I lived in Bedford 8 years ago, this was the place to get great food and even better atmosphere. I was greatly disappointed with the food. We ordered nachos with fish and chips. The...nachos had chips, a little cheese, a mushroom and something small round and brown sprinkled around. Not sure what that was, hamburger? It appeared that one mushroom was sliced very thin and sprinkled on top. I basically bought chips with very little anything else. The only good thing about the nachos were the condiments. The fish was over cooked, with very little fish. So much batter. We are on the East Coast!! One should be able to get a good piece of fish, if you can’t get it in NS, where can you get it?? We didn’t finish the meal because we had to catch a flight, no loss on our part. I booked my plans around enjoying a amazing meal at Finbars. I was greatly disappointed. Let’s leave this on a positive note, their patio is fantastic. One disappointed Easterner living in Alberta.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Thank you for the honest feedback!

Reviewed September 27, 2021 via mobile

My wife ordered the steak sandwich which was over cooked. The fries were soggy and the guniness gravy tasted like from a can As for my ribs they were also over cooked and covered in wing sauce. Not a rum sauce. Probably worst ribs I...have ever had at a restaurant in my life time Costco frozen ribs from cardinal are at least ten times better Overall just very disappointingMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Very sorry your experience was not great... why two reviews from different accounts though?

Reviewed September 26, 2021

Went to sit n patio and have a late afternoon bite and a drink We ordered the steak sandwich and 1/2 rack of ribs The steak sandwich was just sheds of beef with mostly peppers and onions The ribs were supposed to be basted with...their own rum sauce but these were over cooked tough and covered in wing sauce Worst ribs ever Costco sell frozen ribs from Cardinal and they are 1000 times better So I say save your moneyMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Lion T! I'm sorry we disappointed you. This is not our normal standard. I hope your server was able to resolve these issues for you!

Reviewed July 24, 2021

Excellent service tonight, We had Brad as our server, and the food was delicious and hot. Very pleased with the full service! will definitely be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2021

Thank you so much! I'll make sure Brad gets the compliment. Cheers!

Reviewed July 17, 2021

Have been going to this place for many years and always had good experiences. We were here 10th of July for dinner. The place was pretty quiet for a Saturday night. We asked for a table in the section where we usually sit, near the...bar. Asked for our favorite server Alicia and found out that she was no longer working there. We checked the menu online and was really excited to try the 2 new additions on the menu. We ordered a bottle of wine and the bartender was our server. We decided to order Calamari and the ribs. We came to the place just for these as they sounds really good on the menu but we were told that both of them are not available due to a power outage. It was a strange explanation. All other items were available but the two new additions on the menu weren't available. We have tried most other items on the menu over the years so we had to opt for chicken sandwich and shrimp tacos. Chicken sandwich is not really a dinner item for us. No one explained what boxty of the day was. Service was average. We didn't have a nice evening. Decided to give 3 star because we had very pleasant experience here in the past. Felt like the place lost its ambience. Something need to be done to spruce things up.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

Sorry we didn't knock your socks off! I'm afraid the power outage following Tropical Storm Elsa really hampered our ability to prep our menu. We were not able to receive deliveries or use our equipment until well into the afternoon when we were supposed to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Stardust Motel Bedford
50 reviews
2.11 km away
Esquire Motel
47 reviews
2.85 km away
Comfort Inn Halifax
309 reviews
4.26 km away
Chateau Bedford, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
617 reviews
5.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Resto Urban Dining
342 reviews
.23 km away
Il Mercato
603 reviews
.14 km away
Cha Baa Thai Restaurant
337 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
DeWolf Park
36 reviews
2.18 km away
Escape Artists
112 reviews
4.15 km away
Scott Manor House
10 reviews
.50 km away
Sackville Lakes Provincial Park
26 reviews
4.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DonnaBridgewater
February 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Michael F | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure they would accomodate you ... or fins you some tame rice. 😉
0
Votes
vlm0rgan
November 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FinbarsIrishPub | Property representative |
We do! If you check out our menu online you'll see items that are labelled "GF" which are gluten free and "GFO" which are easily modifyable to be made gluten free. Cheers, Mike
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FINBAR'S IRISH PUB, Bedford - Updated 2023 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Finbar's Irish Pub

Yes, Finbar's Irish Pub offers takeaway services.

Finbar's Irish Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4