We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse & Groom

Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
+44 1245 420245
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (40 reviews)
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
“pulled pork” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 706 reviews

Reviewed today

Went for lunch very good food and service had the fish and chips it was brilliant would go again have also had Sunday lunch which as grey as well

Thank dawnbG7369YF
Reviewed 5 days ago

All our food was good except for the steak sandwich. It was not steak, it was a nearly raw piece of something which could not be cut or chewed. My husband did try but eventually had to say something to the server who said that...More

Thank 294unhappy1
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, I am disappointed to hear you were not happy with your recent visit to the Horse and Groom on Tuesday! I have spoken to your waitress Caroline, who is our longest serving waitress and I trust that she dealt with the matter exactly as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Service very slow due to lack availability of staff. Starter sent back due to being cold and the poached egg was more like a hard boiled eggMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank sandieharris2018
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am very sorry to hear your latest visit to the horse and groom was not to our usual standard. We always try to ensure enough staff are working during the busy periods in order to provide the best service. I will look into this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place to visit for a drink or meal with family friends work meeting's, definitely recommend staff are very inviting.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank shelley m
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Shelley, We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to seing you again soon! Kind Regards Alice Campion

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What good experience from booking to the lovely staff. Had large group from adults to kids , nothing was to much Food was really good

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank J3959OVtim
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your latest meal at the Horse and Groom and look forward to seeing you again soon! Alice Campion

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just want to say well done to the staff working on Bank Holiday Monday, they were run off their feet trying to serve people both outside and in the busy restaurant. Food good as usual, had a nice evening, thanks. Barbara

Thank Barbara M
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Barbara, Thankyou for your kind words, all members of staff who worked over this busy period have been informed of this kind review and I agree they all worked extremely hard to provide the best service! Look forward to seeing you again! Alice Campion

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely looking pub but more like a restaurant. Lots of staff around but garden tables were still dirty after an hour of us sitting down. Starter came out quick but an hour and a half wait for the main to arrive which was not worth...More

Thank angel87nikki
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I’m very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with regards to your recent visit. Unfortunately bank holidays are an extremely busy time for us and especially with the nice weather this can lead to a long wait for food, we always try and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are passing by or local, this place offered good service and reasonably priced food for lunch or evening meals. A good selection on the menu and our group was served with minimal effort. You have to get your own KFS, but no biggie....More

Thank Soundgesture
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the food on your recent visit, and were happy with the range of drinks and food we have to offer! Hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind regards Alice Campion

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Horse and Groom for a family meal on Monday evening food and service was brilliant will definitely be going back

Thank Jackie P
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jackie, Glad to hear you were happy with your food and service last Monday and we look forward to seing you again soon! Kind regards Alice Campion

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Horse and Groom for an impulse dinner with family, the place was busy but they managed to squeeze us in no problem! Caroline our waitress was attentive and nothing was too much trouble for her, the food was lovely and hot. Can’t...More

Thank Kyah B
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Kyah, Thankyou for your kind review! We always try our best to seat people inside the restaurant and we are glad you enjoyed the food! Caroline is one of our longest serving waitresses and I’m glad to hear she is still doing a fab...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Writtle Hotels
The County Hotel
560 reviews
2.02 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
424 reviews
2.49 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
435 reviews
2.72 km away
Saracens Head Hotel
212 reviews
2.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Olio On The Green
142 reviews
1.25 km away
The Compasses Inn
136 reviews
1.41 km away
Rose and Crown Pub
55 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grey & Son Wheatsheaf
14 reviews
1.22 km away
Ceramics On The Hop
8 reviews
1.25 km away
Chelmsford Cathedral
209 reviews
2.67 km away
Chelmsford Museum
193 reviews
2.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hannah H
October 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Ralph1940 | Reviewed this property |
Not to my knowledge
0
Votes
berwick093
February 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Coolhandlukegbr | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you look up the website. I don't give out my contact details needlessly.
0
Votes
Vivienne L
February 21, 2016|
Answer
Response from Louvanuk | Reviewed this property |
There is a menu on the pub's website.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Writtle
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 420245
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;