We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirwen

Chaussee Saint-Pierre 15-17 | Place Jourdan, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
+32 2 640 85 41
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (3 reviews)
“pork” (2 reviews)
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
French, Belgian, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chaussee Saint-Pierre 15-17 | Place Jourdan, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

I am sorry to mark poor rating for overpricing on sparking water no matter how good at the cooking. The one litre SPA costed me 10 euro but the same one in supermarket is selling at 0.62 euro. It’s multiple 16 times. Does it make...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank KidultCool
FX-Lambory, Propriétaire at Stirwen, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear KidultCool first of all... ouf, the food was good, and you had a relative Pleasant lunch (at least it's what you said when you left the restaurant. About the pork, it's absolutely not a curry sauce (neither japonese, indian, nor thai, nor either part...More

Reviewed September 20, 2018

A group of four friends, we chose the four-course taster menu and asked for fish and seafood rather than meat, which was no problem. Everything was perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Service was efficient, knowledgeable and friendly, and the different courses arrived at...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 2015Pete
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

An excellent upscale restaurant in the Schumann/Place Jourdan area with discreet nice service, white table clothes and beautiful Art Deco building. An excellent 40€ lunch menu. Recommended for special occasions.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 787CatharinaS
FX-Lambory, Propriétaire at Stirwen, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear Catharina, thank you for your nice comment Looking forward to seeing you next time at Stirwen!

Reviewed July 17, 2018

We had a business institutional lunch and chose this place due to a local recommendation. 5 people, 4 of them had poultry (quite nice). I chose fish, catch of the day. 331 EUR total check. The problem was that when I got my fish, I...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Angel M
FX-Lambory, Propriétaire at Stirwen, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018
Google Translation

Dear AngelM, your iniquitous accusations about the hygiene in our restaurant are very serious ... I will then take times...More

Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Very limited choice of dishes, four entries, four main (fish or meat). Nothing below 40€ except if one takes the business menu but in this case the dishes are imposed. Quality certainly ok. Service very good but slow. Overall good only if you really don‘t...More

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank marcolucaonida
FX-Lambory, Propriétaire at Stirwen, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear Marco luca, first of all, thank you, for giving us your opinion ... at least it’s conforting us : you do not put the quality of the kitchen or service in question (despite the rating "poor" .. understand who will understand either ;-)) Secondly,...More

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Very happy about the food and excellent service, attentive as if they were mind readers. Lekker food, tasty & delicate. Merci 😊

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KristjanDavidsson
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We have been for Dinner with a group of ten persons after an EU meeting - and I have to say: It was a nightmare. Never again, with such a grouchy service and overprized food. We needed bread, bread, bread, because between starter and main...More

Date of visit: October 2017
7  Thank sylviasP2768CB
FX-Lambory, Propriétaire at Stirwen, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

généralement, je ne réponds pas à ce genre d'ineptie, mais là... generally, I do not answer this kind of ineptitude, but there ... What? Are you kidding me? I think there is a misunderstanding: YOU were a nightmare!!! a rude and impolite client (even the...More

Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

Perfect business dinner. Well priced, super service and outstanding food, to a nice price. Highly recommended !

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Sawehna
Reviewed March 10, 2017

It was 20+ years that I discussed my first expat job in this restaurant. Now back for a short stay in Brussels, I decided to return and try it again. Stirwen met my highest expectation!! We got a table for 2 without reservation (but it...More

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Axel8807
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was suggested by the Concierge of the Sofitel hôtel, just in the voisinages. We were very nicely received by the young & proosperous team of collaborators in the sevice. I am a difficult client, rather siad, à demanding one! I was enchanted by...More

Date of visit: January 2017
3  Thank clientexigeant2016
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Sofitel Brussels Europe
1,992 reviews
.15 km away
Aloft Brussels Schuman
1,880 reviews
.45 km away
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
590 reviews
.49 km away
Radisson RED Brussels
744 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Origine Restaurant
54 reviews
.10 km away
The First Bar
27 reviews
.07 km away
Zorba Le Grec
24 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Luxembourg Square
155 reviews
.74 km away
L'Autobus
16 reviews
.03 km away
Alchimie Urban Spa
7 reviews
.61 km away
House of European History
164 reviews
.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stirwen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$34 - US$97
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chaussee Saint-Pierre 15-17 | Place Jourdan, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Brussels  >  Etterbeek
  • Phone Number: +32 2 640 85 41
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Stirwen! To cook, to host, to satisfy...Our principle is based on our passion for gastronomy. In Brussels, at the heart of the Jourdan area, in the shadow of the European institutions, the Stirwen restaurant is a place in which well-eating rings as a gentle melody. Such is our philosophy: regional and seasonal cuisine, respectful of the product, portioned generously, a bond between tradition and inventiveness. A cuisine right in its time, right in its place. Refined in professional chic, you will find yourself in a comfortable and elegant decor. The restaurant lends itself to any opportunity, from the business lunch to the long table. For your function, professional or private events, we provide you with a private dining room upstairs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing