We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon

$$ - $$$, ,
120 Church St, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
+61 3 9591 0611
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good43%
  • Average20%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“hamburger” (2 reviews)
“great beer” (2 reviews)
“cold beer” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
120 Church St, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in during the spring racing carnival and they had a function on. Women dressed up with the usual assortment of hats. We had a couple of drinks and some bar snacks and chatted to the locals. Friendly crowd.

Thank MartinConboy
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Was with a mate at half moon. Great decor and cold beer with a good selection of mainstream and craft beers. Pizza was delicious. Nice open and spacious setting. Slightly noisy but that’s to be expected on a Friday night. I would definitely come back...More

Thank Roger W
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Roger, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us - we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Lucy

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We were really impressed with the fantastic service especially considering the venue was really busy. The food was excellent, again well above expectations when at a sporting function. The whole experience was excellent. Recommend Half Moon for a wonderful dining experience.

Thank Cas1403
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, we're so glad to hear that you loved your time with us! We hope to see you back again very soon. Thank you, Lucy

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Agree with other reviews, Not great value for money. It is Brighton, but c'mon don't take the piss at $28 for veg pasta! Truly, no complaints about food-- but service was really average, we didn't have the same waitress, come waiter, come who the heck...More

1  Thank Aussierach76
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you didn't love your time with us here at Half Moon. I have passed your comments onto our management team and we will endeavour to rectify the issues as soon as possible. Thank you, Lucy

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Headed to the Half Moon for lunch and experienced pretty slow and inexperienced service. Saved by the quality of the food which was very tasty. The chicken pie was full of flavour and well presented and the ravioli was equally good.More

1  Thank Andrew N
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you didn't love your time here with us due to the service you have received, but I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal regardless. I have passed your comments onto our management team....More

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner and drinks. The food was nice and the staff were friendly we will definitely good back.

Thank Gazzi P
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you back at Half Moon soon! Cheers, Lucy

Reviewed 6 August 2017

We were at the bar early last Friday night (5.30) for a social get together, ordered 2 glasses of red wine, the barman had one unopened bottle and... one opened bottle with what looked like a little wine left in it which would have the...More

1  Thank TAdvise14
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you didn't love your time here with us at Half Moon. I have passed your comments onto our management team - if there is anything else you would like to share with us about your experience please...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

I initially came to the Half Moon recently by planning a corporate function and received excellent service from their staff both prior, at the time and afterwards. After using the private dining room we had some delicious food, ranging from calamari to a pumpkin ravioli...More

Thank MitchfromMelbourne
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Mitch, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed both your function and your Thursday night drinks with us here at the Half Moon! I have passed your comments regarding our EFTPOS minimum onto our management team....More

Reviewed 22 July 2017

A nice dining room comfortable setting that promised allot and delivered to a point. The service was average because people seemed distracted. A waiter went to get a desert menu only never to be seeing. When we were asked again if we wanted desert we...More

1  Thank Con P
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Con, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the steaks, and our apologies again for the wait on the menus. We look forward to hosting you again soon....More

Reviewed 31 May 2017

I found it to very cosy and romantic even that night. Great food and good service. A great place to eat or have a few cocktails at the lovely bar area.

Thank laurazingl
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback Laura! We're so pleased that you loved your evening with us, and hope to see you back in the bar for a few cocktails soon! Thanks, Lucy

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Indian Palace Restaurant
79 reviews
.03 km away
White Rabbit
169 reviews
.05 km away
Tokyo Kitchen Sakae
30 reviews
.16 km away
Botticelli Of Brighton
117 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brighton Beach
549 reviews
.87 km away
Middle Brighton Baths
129 reviews
.87 km away
Foreshore Reserve
9 reviews
.79 km away
Historic St Andrew's Anglican Church
9 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Half Moon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 120 Church St, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Bayside  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9591 0611
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the heart of Church St Brighton is Half Moon – Brighton’s Pub. Built in the 60’s, Half Moon has been completely rejuvenated in recent years and now boasts six drinking and dining spaces over two levels. A mix of indoor and outdoor areas are interconnected by a stunning timber staircase and open walkway that makes it the perfect environment for all your drinking, dining, socialising, party and function needs through all seasons. Half Moon boasts one of Melbourne’s finest and most extensive lists of wines by the glass and craft beers from around the globe plus exceptional all day dining. You’ll be spoiled for choice with our variety and premium quality, honest pub food made using only the freshest and finest seasonal produce. Choose from lunch, dinner, kids meals and bar menus all in a vibrant and relaxed environment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing