We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

Nova Scotia
Destination Expert
for Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11,554 posts
167 reviews
Save Topic
Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

I am just beginning to look at possibilities for October, 2018 to get to Tanzania. It seems it would be best to fly into JRO (Kilimanjaro) by way of Amsterdam from Toronto on KLM. We would like to break up this flight by spending a few days in Amsterdam. Can this be done for the same price as if it were a continuous flight?

11 replies to this topic
Pewsey, United...
Level Contributor
4,743 posts
297 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

Test it as a multi-city intinerary rather than as just a return journey, which should be an option on the KLM website, just set the 2 legs X days apart.

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
13,849 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

"Can this be done for the same price as if it were a continuous flight?"

Yes. It can also be cheaper or more expensive. There's really no way of knowing unless you try to price it up.

Port Townsend...
Level Contributor
3,176 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

This should be very doable. I did a similar approach to and from Rwanda last year on KLM,

Edited: 16 August 2017, 15:08
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2,416 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Can I break up a flight by a few days at one of the stops?

Usually adding several days will increase the cost. Do a dummy booking and price it out.

Nova Scotia
Destination Expert
for Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11,554 posts
167 reviews
Save Reply