We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travel sites

Illinois
Level Contributor
72 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Travel sites

I wish I had found this forum a few weeks ago. i need a ticket for the middle of June for my college age son to go to Lima Peru on a college mission trip. The trip wasn't confirmed until about 2 weeks ago so we are late getting airfare. I have been searching all the sites, but am unsure which sites are most reputable. I have never used an online site before, but the prices are better than what we can get from the airlines. We actually ordered a ticket through airfare.com, but they said the bank card didn't clear soon enough so they cancelled the ticket. However, the funds were not available in our bank account for 5 days (!?), so we couldn't order another ticket. I want to act as soon as I can, but I am very leery about the travel sites online. Any suggestions about where or when to order is appreciated. Thanks.

Garden Bay, Canada
Destination Expert
for Air Travel, Business Travel
Level Contributor
9,797 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Travel sites

As you have found out, all that glitters is not gold. The assumption that you have even a decent probability of getting tickets at the prices advertised is not a good one.

It takes seconds for the bank card to clear. Keep all the documentation for the airfare.com transaction. You may need it. Don't be sucked in trying to save a couple dollars. Most of the time it isn't real, there may be fees associated with the 3rd parties that make it more expensive, and if you have any trouble on flight day, who would you look after first... somebody who bought a product from you or somebody who bought from a third party, reselling your product?