We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 posts
10 reviews
WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Here is the description of my terrible experience with FlightNetwork:

I needed to book round trip tickets to Copenhagen for 3 people. We searched Google flights for the best deal and found a round trip flight for $843 from Flight Network. Since we needed to book using 3 different credit cards, I called FlightNetwork for the booking to ensure that we all get the same price and availability. First, it takes the agent forever to find the flight I am talking about (even using the flight numbers). Then, the agent tells me that the price I am seeing is due to a “glitch” in the system but they would honour this price. I am put on hold for long periods of time in order for the agent to come to this conclusion. It is already 30 minutes that I’m on the call and I have no new information other than the information I already had accessed online in less than 2 minutes. I tell the agent I would like to book with 3 credit cards and apply a promo code (for $20 discount per booking). The agent then asks me for the credit card numbers. Without asking me for my promo code, she has already applied a random promo code that gives $10 discount. I was frustrated at the incompetence of the agent and the long wait times so I decided I would continue the transaction online. I hang up with the agent, go through the online booking system, put in my credit card, click on “Purchase Now”, only to get a pop up that says the online system could not confirm my fare. I refresh the page and suddenly the flight is showing up at $896. I call back 5 minutes after I’ve hung up with the agent the first time, and she tells me that flight prices have gone up. I now decide to proceed with the booking anyway as it is urgent enough for me to book this flight. Another 45 minutes goes by, again long hold times, and my 3 flights are now booked. I receive emails with details of the booking but no invoice. I told myself I would call the next day to ask about the invoice. The next day, I notice the flight is showing at $843 again! And, on top of that, when I log in to the Air Canada website to manage my booking, the purchase price is actually at $843. So when I call back FlightNetwork, I tell them about this and I also tell them that I can’t even confirm what has been charged because I never received an invoice. Again, more ridiculously long hold times - every time, I ask a question, the agent tells me to hold on, puts me on hold for 5-10 minutes and comes back throwing up an answer she received from someone else. What is the point of customer care agents when they have to consult every question. Initially, the agent tells me that she says I was charged $843 mistakenly. I am so confused. Then, she comes back and says oh no, it was $896 that you were charged. Complete chaos!! She sends me the invoice which says that I am paying $285 for the flight and $611.57 in taxes totalling $896.57. Then I tell her that the flight is back to $843 on their website. She says she cannot see this price in their database. I am literally refreshing the page as I speak to the agent and am seeing $843. I had to send a screenshot of what I am seeing on their website to them to prove that I am seeing this price!! She then says that because the flight is book, she cannot refund the difference but can provide it as a credit due to their price drop protection. I was not satisfied with this but looked like I didn’t have another option so I agree and she tells me that it will appear in my account within 3-5 business days. It has been 4 and still nothing but we will see. During the call, I ask to speak with a supervisor and she tells me that the supervisor will basically tell me the same thing… The total time for this call was 1 hour.

Then I finally see the charge on my credit card - I see 2 charges. One with the description AIR CANADA totalling $843 and another with description TASF totalling $53. I google TASF and find out this mean travel agent service fee. I am so furious now as they never informed me that this was part of the price they quoted to me!! It is not even detailed in the invoice. I tried calling and the agent tells me that this doesn’t need to be detailed to me, it is part of the total price but I am still not convinced. This is only $53 but the principle of the matter, I was not informed of the details of the charges to my credit card, let alone the absolutely horrible service, I am sure this is in violation of some consumer protection act or travel agents act. Overall absolutely terrible terrible nightmarish experience with FlightNetwork. Not worth the headache and lack of transparency. Embarrassing that this is a Canadian company.

220 replies to this topic
Montreal, Canada
1 post
31. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

This is the worst company ever. For the good of humanity,please do not book your tickets on this site.

Wales, United...
Destination Expert
for Bargain Travel, Cruises, Swansea, Cardiff, Carmarthenshire, Neath, Port Talbot
Level Contributor
74,608 posts
478 reviews
32. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Would you care to tell us why?

1 post
33. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

We have booked all our flight with flightnetwork...no problems, no hidden fees and have taken advantage of price drop protection 4 times!

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
1 post
11 reviews
34. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

I read your whole comment. And have experienced the identical problem. Makes me wonder now why can they get away with this. Feels like something sneaky going on there. Good thing you seem to know what your doing. I have very little experience so although I was upset with all the waiting I felt I just had to accept it..thank you for sharing your experience. Gail.

Wales, United...
Destination Expert
for Bargain Travel, Cruises, Swansea, Cardiff, Carmarthenshire, Neath, Port Talbot
Level Contributor
74,608 posts
478 reviews
35. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Gail, the reply buttons don't link to the post you think are replying to, so you'll need to clarify who it is that you have an identical problem to.

Murrieta, California
1 post
2 reviews
36. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

We booked our tickets to Rome with Flight Network and had no problems were happy. When we called air canada to book seats they had no problem finding our booking and assigned our seats for 8 people.

Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
3 posts
14 reviews
37. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

I have used Flight network many times for flights within my own country being Canada. No problems.

I would never book an international flight on line. I will check out prices and then go into Flight centre and they will usually match it or beat it and then you have an agent behind you. we have run into a few problems once out of country and Flight Centre is awesome at getting back to you and solving any problems that may arise with no problems whatsoever. I would never do it any other way.

London, United...
Level Contributor
684 posts
123 reviews
38. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

.

Edited: 24 February 2017, 00:19
1 post
39. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Thank you guys for sharing these experiences, I wanted to book my flight to Nigeria with Fight network, but I have change my mind

Greater Sydney...
Level Contributor
21,297 posts
113 reviews
40. Re: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!

Well done for doing a bit of research first. Travel safe.

Reply to: WARNING - Do not book with Flight Network!!!
Get notified by e-mail when a reply is posted