We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Throwing candy at kids?????

Warwick, Rhode...
Level Contributor
4,050 posts
84 reviews
Save Topic
Throwing candy at kids?????

I have read several reviews where people on excursions, ie buggies, say they throw candy at kids that run out of their homes when they hear them coming. Do people really do this? Honestly, this sounds horrible to me on several levels. I would not want kids running after a moving vehicle, I'm sure it's not great for their teeth and it just seems odd to me. Also, as a teacher, I would fear that kids would not want to go to school as they may miss their candy opportunity.

Thoughts?

Barb

Edited: 31 May 2013, 19:41
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14,207 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Throwing candy at kids?????

My thoughts have been expressed numerous times regarding this.... some people post that they have done this and seem quite proud of themselves ???? Would this be something they would do at home in a poorer neighbourhood? I think not.

These kids are not scavengers nor should they be treated that way.

Warwick, Rhode...
Level Contributor
4,050 posts
84 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Throwing candy at kids?????

Thank you! That is exactly how I feel. Reading this makes me feel embarassed that kids would be treated like this by people visiting their country.

Barb

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14,207 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Throwing candy at kids?????

And thanks for bringing this up again Barb

(•_•)

<) )╯

./ \.

Edited: 31 May 2013, 19:52
Warwick, Rhode...
Level Contributor
4,050 posts
84 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Throwing candy at kids?????

I wish I was the artist you are......., but. :)

halifax
Level Contributor
475 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Throwing candy at kids?????