We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seeing Vallarta without a tour

Houston
Level Contributor
8 posts
3 reviews
Seeing Vallarta without a tour

Looking for some suggestions of places to visit without a tour guide and suggestion of previous travelers would be appreciated. The Malecon, Tequila factory and Botanical gardens is on my list of things to see. I will be in town for seven nights so have a lot of time to fill. I would like to see some little villages in the Mountains, plantations ect…. I am not good with crowds and enjoying exploring on my own. I will be renting a car, but do not want to stay elsewhere overnight

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4,685 posts
12 reviews
1. Re: Seeing Vallarta without a tour

Since you are renting a car, go north to Sayulita or even further north. Take the longer way back around through Punta de Mita and La Cruz. Stop in Bucerias on the way back. All are nice small Mexican towns with some great restaurants and nice beaches.

SoCal
Level Contributor
9,747 posts
2 reviews
2. Re: Seeing Vallarta without a tour

There are no tequila factories in PV, there are a few mock ups showing how it is made, but that is just a front to sell you tequila.

As far as I know the closest factory is in the town of Tequila several hours drive from PV.

Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
12,629 posts
259 reviews
3. Re: Seeing Vallarta without a tour

JenninHtown .. there's a Tuesday morning guided tour of the sculptures located along the Malecon that we've heard is most-interesting and a lot of fun, and there's no charge. Details in this link:

www.pvscene.com/?p=1765

Chicago
Destination Expert
for Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta
Level Contributor
8,987 posts
52 reviews
4. Re: Seeing Vallarta without a tour