We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

best time to go to the canadian rockies

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
98 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
best time to go to the canadian rockies

when is the best time to do the canadian rockies, i don't want to go when it is so crowded you can't get around. i am also a photographer and would love to get some good shots

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
59,618 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: best time to go to the canadian rockies

Hi webbear !

I'm just going to link your other thread here to help out others who come along shortly.

tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g154910-i220-k5927…

For a snow and ice free time in the Rockies, the general rule of thumb is about mid-June to mid-September. School is in until the end of June and then resumes for the fall the day after Labour Day weekend, the same weekend as yours in America. There are a few weeks there when there are fewer crowds.

Edited: 26 November 2012, 19:59
Banff, Canada
Destination Expert
for Banff, Banff National Park
Level Contributor
6,347 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: best time to go to the canadian rockies

Hi webbear: Typing "best time" into the search bos for this forum (centre top of your screen) will yield many, many past threads on this forum. The general consensus over time seems to be September -- that's certainly my opinion.

Kootenays, British...
Level Contributor
405 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: best time to go to the canadian rockies

Fall or winter in my opinion. Depends what you like better.

Canadian Rockies...
Level Contributor
637 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: best time to go to the canadian rockies

I'd say there's good and bad with each season, just depends what your priorities are!