We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria or Nanaimo?

Sudbury, Ontario
2 posts
Save Topic
Victoria or Nanaimo?

Hello, I am a student finishing up high school in Ontario. I am moving to Vancouver Island for university and applying to both uVic and VIU. I am looking forward to outdoor activities like hiking, surfing and kayaking. I also like scenery a lot, and I am also very in to playing music. Which do you figure is a better place for me to live, Victoria or Nanaimo? From looking at pictures, Nanaimo seems to appeal to me more, it just looks much nicer than Victoria, but maybe I'm just not seeing it because I'm not actually there.

Thanks for the help

Port Moody, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
12,179 posts
150 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Victoria or Nanaimo?

Victoria is larger and IMO has more to offer than Nanaimo ( sorry BuccaneerDave ;))

Vancouver-by-the-Sea
Destination Expert
for British Columbia
Level Contributor
8,759 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Victoria or Nanaimo?

"Nanaimo seems to appeal to me more, it just looks much nicer than Victoria...."

Not even close-but this post will soon be deleted since TA doesn't facilitate relocation enquiries.

Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
2,509 posts
151 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Victoria or Nanaimo?

Go for Victoria - more opportunities for all your interests. It's only a 1 1/2 hr drive to Nanaimo if you want to go there for a day.

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Victoria or Nanaimo?

Sorry Nanaimites but -- are you kidding? Hands down Victoria

Nanaimo, Canada
Destination Expert
for Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
5,286 posts
431 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Victoria or Nanaimo?