We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starting point recommendation on camino de compostela(10days

1 post
Starting point recommendation on camino de compostela(10days

Hello I am a student that is planning to walk the camino de compostela alone for 10days.

I plan to walk about 20~25km everyday, and maybe up to 30km a few times if necessary.

Can some of you give me recommendations on where to start? I heard that from the 100km point it becomes a bit 'tourist-like' so for a few days in my starting point I would just like to see small, peaceful towns with their own charms.

Your personal experiences, knowledge anything will be super helpful.

Thank you so much!!

5 replies to this topic
O Savinao, Galicia
Destination Expert
for Galicia
Level Contributor
6,843 posts
9 reviews
1. Re: Starting point recommendation on camino de compostela(10days

look at the top right of this page and hit the top question How to approach the Camino de Santiago.

There is more than just one Camino to SdC thus you can pick one that is not so overcrowded.

San Jose, California
Destination Expert
for California
Level Contributor
18,185 posts
120 reviews
2. Re: Starting point recommendation on camino de compostela(10days

If you are thinking of walking the Camino Frances, then Ponferrada is a good starting point. It is 216 km from Ponferrada to Santiago - so you could do that in 10 days with walking 20-25 km/day. This will give you a taste of the Camino before Sarria where things get more crowded - just about half of your walk will be before Sarria.