We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tough question for residents of Italy

Philadelphia Area
Level Contributor
2,150 posts
63 reviews
Save Topic
Tough question for residents of Italy

I just came back from my 5th trip to Italy. There was an Italian Government worker who has been SO nice to me. I am a photographer and she has helped me obtain permits and has more than gone out of her way to help me since I have been home. She is seriously the nicest person I never met.

In America, government workers get terminated if they accept gifts over $10. Everything over $10 must be given to charity. I would like to send this lady a gift card or gift for well over $10. However, I don't want her to lose her job if Italian workers are under the same rule. Can anyone help me?

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Tough question for residents of Italy

Hi there,

go on with your gift: in Italy even politicians accept "gifts" (money or things) without ever losing their positions. Besides, if a gift comes from a foreigner, nobody is going to think about corruption (which is, as I said, ordinary stuff anyway).

Castellina in...
Level Contributor
3,347 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Tough question for residents of Italy

If it's sent to her private address, there's no connection with her work. Afterall, she also probably has a birthday! A municipal architect near here (not Castellina) got six months behind bars for taking "gifts" but that was comparatively big stuff. So don't go tipping municipal nor government officials in their offices!

FF
Milan, Italy
Destination Expert
for Milan, Genoa, Valle d'Aosta
Level Contributor
12,377 posts
108 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Tough question for residents of Italy