We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report: First Time in Lisbon, 5 Days

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
167 posts
20 reviews
Trip Report: First Time in Lisbon, 5 Days

DH and I returned from our first ever trip to Lisbon, and to Portugal, on Sunday. We had a lovely time. I am trying to write it all up, but it is slow going as I comb through my notes and memories.

First off, I would like to thank all the DEs and contributors who looked over my itinerary and helped tweak it. Any errors I made in the course of this trip were entirely due to my own incompetence.

Day 1 is posted here: apatchofsky.com/journal/lisbon-day-one.html

WARNING: I am a verbose writer. So for those of you who have no interest in inane ramblings and half-baked impressions, I will try to just put my practical tips here in the forum:

- Walking tour: People may have different preferences for how to handle a red-eye, but we were really glad we did this, as it kept us on our feet and moving the first day and gave us an overview of the city center to help us decide where we wanted to spend more time and where we didn't. I was spoiled by a private tour on a trip elsewhere, so that's my preference, but no reason not to do a group tour if you prefer that. Just tip your guide even if it's a "free" tour.

- Igreja de Sāo Roque and Igreja de Sāo Domingos: Two very different churches, both recommended as in a way they complement each other. Sāo Domingos has multiple services a day, so check the timing if you want to visit when there is not a service in progress (I believe the last mass is at 6 P.M.). Sāo Roque also has a museum, which we didn't visit, but if it's of interest, I believe the entrance fee is €5. You may enter the church for free.