We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car rental "scams"

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 posts
54 reviews
Car rental "scams"

Just want to give you heads up of an incident I had this week with Sixt in Oslo. Since I did not take before/after pictures of the rental car, which I have never had to do during the 20 years I have been travelling for work, Sixt is now claiming a paint damage which I have not caused. This behaviour seems systematic when I look at the web, and a trap and company which I will avoid in the future. Beware!

66 replies to this topic
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7,332 posts
21 reviews
1. Re: Car rental "scams"

I have 40+ years experience of renting cars in many countries, and I have run into similar incidents several times. My general experience is:

1) If you rent directly from the company in question at their going rate, they are usually not fuzzy about minor damages, whether they are your fault or not. They are concerned about their reputation in the market.

2) If, OTOH you have rented the car through a third-party agency at a discounted rate, they try their best to get their money back. Fairly simple, isn't it?

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 posts
54 reviews
2. Re: Car rental "scams"

Absolutely agree with both of your points. That is why Sixt's behaviour is so confusing. And something to be aware of before entering into a contract with them - and the lack of consumer focus I have seen so far makes me very unlikely to use them again.

Oslo, Norway
Destination Expert
for Norway, Oslo
Level Contributor
17,812 posts
36 reviews
3. Re: Car rental "scams"

Trawl through the forum and you'll find similar complaints about every car hire co. Lessons are:

- check car carefully before driving off and make sure all damage is noted,

- hire directly from the company,