We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pulling camper over Wolf Creek Pass

Level Contributor
27 posts
Save Topic
Pulling camper over Wolf Creek Pass

I am a self proclaimed rookie mountain-driving a f150 super crew w/a lighter 27' trailer. How is wolf creek pass on 160 from the Grand canyon to Durango and on to the Great Sand Dunes?

Appreciate any pointers you might have. Thanks!

Pagosa Springs...
Destination Expert
for Durango, Pagosa Springs
Level Contributor
414 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Pulling camper over Wolf Creek Pass

You will be going east over Wolf Creek Pass, so you will encounter the tight hairpin turns going uphill. The speed limit ranges from 25mph to 45mph to the top of the pass. As you head down the pass towards South Fork, the road opens up and the speed limits increase.

Fruita, Colorado
Destination Expert
for Fruita, Grand Junction
Level Contributor
6,491 posts
227 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Pulling camper over Wolf Creek Pass

If you want to see some YouTube video here is a link that shows driving down the east side.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWfTDR8xOA4

The important thing is to not overheat your brakes. Don't use cruise control as it will be constantly touching the brakes. Instead take the truck out of overdrive and use the gears, shifting down to second if needed to slow down. In the video you will see some places that are ramps designed for runaway trucks. Don't ever pull off in front of those but use them if you need to - if your brakes fail. Not a good place to be if a big rig needs an escape route.

Here is an old discussion on TripAdvisor that will have some great information for you - tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g28927-i252-k28080…

Hope you have a great trip.

Edited: 22 April 2012, 11:22
Level Contributor
27 posts
Save Reply