We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geneva to Downtown Chicago

Saint Louis...
Level Contributor
217 posts
41 reviews
Geneva to Downtown Chicago

Is it feasible to stay in Geneva for a few nights, then park at a long-term lot and take the train into downtown Chicago for a few nights. My 70+ years parents are considering doing this. They would drive to Geneva, but do not want to consider driving into the city. I've been checking on this for them. Any advice would be appreciated. It looks pretty simple to me, but I have no first-hand experience doing this. They have taken Amtrak into downtown and are familiar with catching cabs, etc. Thanks!

Iowa
Level Contributor
96 posts
4 reviews
1. Re: Geneva to Downtown Chicago

I'm interested in a response to this as well. Where are the long term lots? Are they in most every suburb? Gurnee area?

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,540 posts
69 reviews
2. Re: Geneva to Downtown Chicago

Yes it is possible. However the answer is sort of confusing.

If they were to park their car after 5:00pm on Friday and plan on spending the weekend in the city - they could park in any of the trainstation "permit only" spots, as weekends are not monitored by the police department and the lots are considered free for weekend travelers.