We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oregon Coast Must Do's?

Napa, California
Level Contributor
246 posts
133 reviews
Save Topic
Oregon Coast Must Do's?

I will be doing a loop from Northern CA to Bend, spending the night there, cutting across the state to Florence for another overnight stop and then down the Oregon Coast going south back down to California making Crescent City the overnight stop. What are the Must see and do's along this route? I am a photographer and looking for great beach shots, bridges and cute little towns along the way with personality and history. In addition, would this be a good time for whale watching? and if so, any specific locations.

I am also a National Park junkie and thinking of swinging in to Oregon Caves NM but am unsure if that should be a trip on it's own.

Thank you in advance for your tips and advice!

Eugene, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Eugene, Springfield
Level Contributor
8,426 posts
187 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Oregon Coast Must Do's?

With only one-night stopovers, you'll be spending a large part of each day driving. Hopefully, you'll be doing this trip during the summer, when the days are long. As a photographer you'll appreciate how light changes during the day. You will have to consider where you'll be morning, noon and at sundown...and you won't have the liberty of staying anywhere for a full day to await the optimal lighting moment for your subjects. Indeed, weather could even eliminate some of your prime subjects (such as coastal fog completely obscuring lighthouses and coastline landscapes).

A good time for whale spotting is when you spot them. Again, when are you coming on your trip?

Florence, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
6,051 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Oregon Coast Must Do's?