We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to take a family of beginners to learn to ski?

Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
8 posts
97 reviews
Where to take a family of beginners to learn to ski?

My husband can ski, but our 9-year old daughter & I have only skied once. We're planning a trip Dec 17-22 and are excited to take some lessons & have fun as a family. As a college student, my husband skied Park City, Utah. He thought that might be a good destination for us. Some friends take their young children to Snowmass every year & rave about it. There are so many destination options - what suggestions do you have for us?

Park City, Utah
Destination Expert
for Utah, Winter Sports
Level Contributor
21,130 posts
451 reviews
1. Re: Where to take a family of beginners to learn to ski?

You can't go wrong with any of the three resorts. My best advice, though, is to book a nice ski-in/ski-out hotel or condo given that you're early season and prices will be super low.

At Deer Valley, Black Diamond is a great spot at the Snow Park Base. At Park City Mountain Resort, either Marriott Mountainside or Snowflower - also Silver Star. At The Canyons, any of the base hotels including the Grand, Sundial, etc.

Have fun.

Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
8 posts
97 reviews
2. Re: Where to take a family of beginners to learn to ski?

Thanks so much for the advice!

alvinut
Level Contributor
271 posts
2 reviews
3. Re: Where to take a family of beginners to learn to ski?

I'll take Tumbleweed's advice one step further - you really can't go wrong with any ski town in Utah or Colorado. Aspen/Snowmass, Vail/Beaver Creek, Steamboat, Telluride, Breckenridge/Keystone, Park City - all excellent options with fun towns and great skiing.