We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st Timer: Trip Report Part 1, Long!

Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 posts
83 reviews
1st Timer: Trip Report Part 1, Long!

Trip Report: Day 1 and 2

I am a history teacher from Ohio who was traveling solo to Boston for pleasure but also as part of a travel class for graduate credit. I left Pittsburgh Airport early Sunday morning. My first impression of Boston was how close the airport is to the water. It felt like we were just feet over the water as we were landing.

Picked up my luggage and found the shuttle bus to the T. I bought a 7 day link pass at the T for $15.00 and took the blue line to the government center stop, then picked up the green E to Heath. On the blue line there were a man and his young son in lederhosen speaking to another young couple in German. I knew this was going to be an interesting trip. It’s not everyday that a small town Ohio girl gets to see a hot guy in lederhosen, lol.

I was a bit surprised at first on the Green line. It seemed dirty and scary compared to the DC metro. Later I learned that it is the oldest subway line in the US which made more sense, and I realized that the other lines seem much newer and cleaner. In general, the subway system was easy to use and fast.

I got off the Green at Prudential and walked through the mall to the Sheraton (I posted a review for the Sheraton separately). After I checked in I got back on the metro to Park Street. I walked through the Boston Common to Beacon Hill. I spent several hours walking the streets including Louisburg Square and Charles. They had an art walk on that day and several musicians-definitely a cool experience.