We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kailua-kona in September

The Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Kailua-kona in September

Hello Everyone,

We are having a wedding at the Keauhou Beach Resort on September 26,2009. I have about 50 guest coming up and I am hoping you can help me out with lodging suggestions. About 1/2 my guest will be traveling with children and I would like to help them budget friendly options.

I think some of the families would even be up for sharing condos or private homes, this sounds much more economical being that condos have the kitchens.

This is my first time on the Big Island, so your feedback would be awesome.

Some points:

Lodging under or around $100.00 a night this could go much higher for a place with 3-4 rooms obviously.

Within in a 1/2 hour to 20 minutes from the wedding location.

grocery stores nearby?

And if anyone has any extra suggestions that would be great.

Mentioned in this post
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
#1 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Kona Tiki Hotel
Kona Tiki Hotel
#2 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Palm Springs...
Level Contributor
11,467 posts
115 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Kailua-kona in September

Ok....September is the hottest month of the year and most humid so you will need AC... Outrigger is the most kid friendly..

There are 4 grocery stores, drug stores and restauraunts with 1 to 5 miles

There is only 3 places I know of under 100.

Kona Seaside hotel about $90 a night for 2 max 4 to a room

Uncle Billies...2 to a room a nasty pest hole

Kona Tiki hotel 2 to a room..rooms for $90 with a little efficency kitchen... very spartan tiny room no AC