We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santa Ana's security

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
1 post
12 reviews
1 helpful vote
Santa Ana's security
Save

Hi everybody, I wanted to ask any of you who live in Santa Ana or has recently visited this part of el Salvador if you could tell me how secure is this place for visiting.

I'm a student (21 years old) and I'm planning on visiting this country in August but my parents are slightly pissed off because they think I may get kidnapped or something and I wanted to relax them. Can you tell me something positive??

Thank you all

9 replies to this topic
Boston...
Level Contributor
2 posts
31 reviews
13 helpful votes
1. Re: Santa Ana's security
Save

Santa Ana is great but it always helps to be cautious. As long as you are not drawing attention to yourselves and rude they will leave you alone.

They are very helpful and walking around the city is easy. We have left our hotel around 8pm and have walked to the city square for drinks and back and have never been bothered. It's all about going out in groups (if you have one) and being appropriate and not loud.

Suchitoto, El...
Level Contributor
45 posts
28 reviews
28 helpful votes
2. Re: Santa Ana's security
Save

Hi there,

All of El Salvador has its problems, but using just common sense you should be fine. Santa Ana all though a fairly large city has its problems but most travelers and tourist are fine. If you want to PM me copied to your parents I could most likley be of aid as I have been living and working here for now over twenty years and have provided advice to many over the years.

Anyway you will love it here and that will be one more to tell the world that people do not get raped robbed or kidnapped(unless involved in gang activities).

Saludos from Suchitoto

Robert Broz

California Ex-Pat