We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Airline Worse thean Spirit”
Review of Boutique Air


Reviewed December 28, 2017

Landing safely was the only positive event of our entire experience with Boutique Air. Both flights were +2hrs late, almost missed the connecting flight in ABQ.
When enquiring about the flight status, BTQ personnel claimed to be unable or unwilling to track incoming flights or estimate how long the delay would be.
The airline personnel are incompetent, arrogant, uncaring and absolutely terrible with customer service. They act as if you are doing the customer a favor by providing the flight. Makes one wonder what kind of maintenance program is implemented if the public face of the company is so terrible.
They have the market cornered and are the only game in town for a lot of regional airports. That is the ONLY way they can possibly stay in business. This airline is worse that Spirit.
I can't see how this airline can possibly stay in business if there is even the slightest competition.
Every passenger I spoke to said they would fly another airline if there was another choice. I agree.
I hope BTQ's investors & bankers are listening as they are going to lose a lot of money on this poorly run airline.

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
4  Thank DonaldP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Flying on a small plane was not what is signed up for. It was so turbulent, I almost threw up!!!
It seemed cool at first as we pretended to have our own private jet. Problem is, the jet had a propellor. The flight from Oakland to Merced was ok. However, the second half to LA made me sick for the day. It threw off my equilibrium as I became motion sick. Luckily I hadn't eaten too much that morning. The plane is loud.
On a positive note, the pilots were pleasant and offered us beverages but to get to them, you had to crouch and walk through people get it out of a drawer on the floor. Not ideal!
I probably wouldn't fly them again.

Date of travel: December 2017
5  Thank elbomb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I fly this route often. It is comfortable and a great option to driving. It is a 50 minute flight compared to a 5 hour drive. On top of that it is only $60 one way. The planes are small but quite and comfortable. It beats driving...

Date of travel: November 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Ken6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Flying Boutique Air is very convenient, as you do not have to arrive 2 hours ahead! (Just 45 minutes...) The terminal is close to restaurants, gasoline and Ikea, and they have a shuttle to/from PDX. The interior of the plane itself is very small, with 8 seats. The first 2 seats face the next three rows, and the seats are one on each side, with the aisle down the middle. All average to tall sized adults will need to bend over to walk.
I don't know how they'd load someone with a physical handicap. They remind you to use the restroom in the terminal...the one onboard is a fold-out affair between the seats and the pilots...you don't want to use it! Fortunately, the flight is under an hour. There are tiny sodas and peanuts for self-serve refreshments (accessible to the rear-facing first row...ask the passengers to reach behind them and pass them out). The pilots are the only crew, hence the self-serve refreshments. My flight this time was delayed, as they had to fly replacement pilots in from Denver and beyond. I appreciated this extra mile, as cancelling that day's flights would have been difficult for them to reschedule the next day. They personally called the number on the reservation, it wasn't a computer call. Terrific prices, especially if you book out ahead of time. Overall a great airline. We just wish they had connections to cities beyond Portland, as it means a separate ticket if one wishes to fly further.

Date of travel: November 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank FlowersNQuilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

The best way to shuttle from Portland to Pendleton when short on time. Love having Boutique Air as an alternative to driving the Gorge. The flights are inexpensive. Pilots are great. The building is easy to get to on Airport Way with free parking & is updated with a comfortable waiting area and no TSA line. If you have a long layover from an earlier flight it is only a 10 min walk and/or shuttle from the main PDX terminal if you want to wander the main shops & restaurants.

Date of travel: November 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC