We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-image
DrBiagio1784 wrote a review Oct 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina178 contributions
I too have traveled on MSC 2 times, once Meriviglia and now Seaside. The first on Meriviglia in Europe was a great trip with no issues. The Seaside leaves much to be desired. I think the main issues are due to MSC trying to enter the USA market by offering cheaper fares, which in turn they are trying to save money in other areas that don't make sense.
The ship itself if very nice and has tons of spaces to hang out, drink, eat, etc. Shows were excellent. Pool space/options were plentiful. Slides were a ton of fun. The stops worked well.
If you are a first time cruiser than you wont notice some of these issues. If you are a frequent cruiser, than you should take note.

The areas we had issues with are here:
-No wash cloths or tissues in the room. You get them if you ask for them but not sure why they are not standard.
-Staff was present but very few were friendly or tried to make your vacation a little special.
-The food was just so so except on the last day. I think that was to try and leave a better taste in our mouths...pun intended. :-)
Buffet food was just okay, nothing special and even had the same food for dinner as lunch, which was a disappointment. They never had a theme night at the buffet either. The main dining room food was so so. as well. The last night it was actually a bit better. We did a 4 night cruise. Their weas no formal night. You could get lobster for a $20 up charge as well. If you want more than one entree they charge you $5.
-Pool areas. They actually have several pool areas which was nice. 2 biggest issues were 1 ) no drinks in or NEAR the pool. Even on the immediate pool deck next to the pool we got yelled at. But, you can have drinks in the hot tub. What kind of sense does this make? We are on vaca and should be able to have drinks wherever we want them. 2) All the adult pools are over 5.5' deep. No zero entry. No shallow areas to relax. Doesn't make sense.
-Speaking of drinks, none are allowed in the theater either. The shows were great BTW, but not allowing drinks? Again a big miss by MSC.
-Embarkation. We traveled with a 90 year in a walker. They had a special line for handicapped but you had to walk across the whole room to get to it and then back across the whole room to get on the ship. Bad planning in Port Canaveral. Would also be nice to have an elevator to get up to the ship rather then making the handicap walk uphill back and forth to get to the entry.
-Staff seemed very limited. Wait times at bars was a pain. Rooms were not always made up at the end of the day.
-Tea and lemonade not included without a drink package. That is ridiculous!
-The MSC app stinks! There is no way finding on the app so you can't see a layout of the boat or decks. Why not??? Logging into the app is archaic and many of our party couldnt even get it to work. Then if you do, trying to add your party to the chat feature was even harder. They need to overhaul the app to make it more user friendly (and I am an I.T. guy! )

All in all, they have a lot of potential, they just need to listen to the feedback and get on par with the Royal Caribbean's and Princess' of the world and not the cheaper Carnival ships. Best of luck.
Read more
Sail Date: October 2023
Cabin Type:
Type of Trip:
Destination: Bahamas
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

MSC Seaside

463 reviews
 All photos (3,997)3,997
Full view
Traveller (1,270)
Common Areas (1,910)
Dining and Bars (1,226)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
4 Night Cruise to the Mediterranean
Departure date
Monday, 24-04-22
Route
Marseille, Genoa, Valencia, Marseille
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 4,132   |   Crew: 1,413
Passengers to crew: 2.92:1
Passengers to space: 37.2:1
Launched: 2017   

Decks

  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
  • Deck 10
Additional decks
Deck 5 layout
Cabins
  Bella Inside Stateroom (I1)  
  Bella Outside Stateroom (O1)  
  Fantastica Outside Stateroom (O2)  
  Wellness Oceanview Stateroom (OW)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 172 - 269 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 312
Accessible rooms: 1
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 1312

Activities & entertainment

Activities (34)
  • Pool (4)
  • Arts Classes
  • Barber Shop*
  • Bowling*
  • Dance Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Evening DJ
  • F1 Simulator*
  • Forest Aquaventure Park
  • Forest Aquaventure Park
  • Game Shows
  • Hair Salon*
  • Hot Tubs (13)
  • Hydrotherapy Pool*
  • Interactive XD Cinema*
  • Karaoke
  • Medi-Spa Center*
  • MSC Aurea Spa*
  • MSC Gym by Technogym
  • Pedicure /Manicure*
  • Spa Wellness Area*
  • Sports Tournaments
  • The Library
  • Trivia
  • Virtual Games Arcade*
  • Yoga*
  • Waterslides
  • Baby Club Chicco
  • Doremi Studio
  • Doremiland
  • Junior Club LEGO
  • Mini Club LEGO
  • Teen Club
  • Young Club
Entertainment (8)
  • Live Music
  • Comedy Performances
  • Haven Lounge
  • Metropolitan Theater
  • Miami Casino*
  • News Café
  • Piazza Grande
  • The Piazza
Dining (25)
  • Asian Market Kitchen by Roy Yamaguchi - Asian*
  • Seaside Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Shine Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Biscayne Bay Buffet & Pizzeria - Casual
  • Marketplace Buffet - Casual
  • Champagne Bar - Champagne*
  • Wine & Cocktails - Clubby Bar*
  • Venchi Cioccogelateria & Coffee Bar - Coffee & Pastries*
  • Bistro - La Bohéme - French*
  • Ipanema Restaurant - International
  • Seashore Restaurant - International
  • Jungle Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Jungle Pool Lounge - Pool Bar*
  • Miami Beach Bar - Pool Bar
  • Miramar Bar - Pool Bar*
  • South Beach Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Ocean Cay Restaurant - Seafood*
  • Sports Bar - Sports Bar*
  • Butcher's Cut - Steakhouse*
  • Aurea Bar - Suite Guests
  • MSC Yacht Club Grill - Suite Guests
  • MSC Yacht Club Restaurant - Suite Guests
  • MSC Yacht Club Sundeck & Bar - Suite Guests
  • Top Sail Lounge - Suite Guests
  • Venchi Gelateria & Creperie - Sweets*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 77
  • 67
  • 70
  • 138
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
avatar-image
DallasGlobeTrotter1 wrote a review Apr 9
Fort Worth, Texas12 contributions7 helpful votes
We had an amazing experience doing a 4 night cruise on the MSC Seaside. About a week before the cruise we successfully “bid” on an upgrade to the Yacht Club—which is a cruise ship within a cruise ship. Best move we could have done! We were met at the dock by our butler who escorted us onto the ship, bypassing the normal check in lines. Check in was taken care of inside the Yacht Club at the dedicated Yacht Club concierge station while we waited in the Yacht Club lounge. Once we got checked in, our butler escorted us to our cabin, where our bags were already waiting for us. The Yacht Club cabins are very spacious with lots of storage space, and a good sized bathroom. Located at the front of the ship, the Yacht Club has a private lounge, dining room, pool with buffet, and two whirlpools. It includes wifi, drinks, and free access to the Thermal Area of the spa. You also do not need reservations for dining or attending the theater shows like you do with the other room categories. The ship as a whole was beautiful and well maintained. Great water park for kids, complete with water slides that go out over the ocean. It also has a bowling alley, game room, and multiple pools in addition to the private Yacht Club pool. Nightly entertainment in the theater was well done—especially the Michael Jackson show. We’ve been on other cruise ships and the theater shows seemed more like an “afterthought.” Not so on the MSC Seaside. The shows were well produced. Although we spent most of our time in the Yacht Club section of the ship, we did visit the main buffet for a breakfast and a lunch, and used the pool that has a retractable roof. The main buffets had a great variety, although the quality and offerings were not at the level of the Yacht Club. We did not see any of the other cabins, so we don’t know how they compare. We appreciated MSC’s apparent commitment to security and safety on this ship. Security was very vigilant in screening passengers exiting and especially entering. Also, they did a crew safety drill while we were on. I asked one of the crew how often they did drills. Her reply was, “too often—we’re always doing drills!” We liked her honest answer—it made us feel even safer. Special thanks to Jayson at the Yacht Club pool/buffet/bar who always had a smile and worked super hard. Sanjeev, our Yacht Club waiter for most of our meals, was awesome and very attentive. Leela, our butler, took great care of us ensuring that we had everything we needed and personally escorting us off the ship at each port of call. She not only escorted us off, but she walked us to where we met our ground transportation and made sure everything was set for us.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alice wrote a review Mar 2024
Atlanta, Georgia37 contributions7 helpful votes
We did the MSC seaside cruise starting and ending in Fort-de-France, Martinique. We also visited ports at Guadeloupe, Dominica, St. Maarten, Antigua, and St. Kitts. I picked this cruise because it allowed us to visit 6 ports and by getting creative with excursions, we got to visit 8 islands in a week by adding St. Martin (the French side) while on Dutch St. Maarten and we hopped over to Nevis from St. Kitts. We generally had a wonderful time. The food was good at both the main dining room for dinner as well as the buffet. I was generally always able to eat something I liked. Note they have hot sauce, salt, and pepper in the buffet so you can spice up any food you find bland. They also have a lot of choice. My favorites at buffet were pizza (so much better than what you can get in US), pasta, focaccia tomato sandwiches (sometimes with ham), roast turkey, roast chicken, lamb kofta. They do vary the items slightly day to day to keep things interesting. The last day they had a great Italian theme lunch with amazing spaghetti with red peppers, oil, and garlic and beautiful and tasty desserts. The main dining room meals that stood out included jerk chicken, conch fritter, calamari, salmon, and delicious cakes. My husband had the steak on many occasions and found it comparable to steak he’s had on another American cruise line. If you have reasonable expectations, you will be fine. Also remember that if you don’t like something, you can always go to buffet later if you’re still hungry. The dining staff were wonderful and gracious. The ship was elegant and my husband was impressed with how elevated it looked and the large number of bars they had. The ports were good. We took excursions for all destinations except ended up having to navigated St. Martin on our own when the your company cancelled. The excursions were all great and St. Martin was easy to do on our own. The theater shows were average to above average depending on the night. The 2nd theater show (musical medleys) and the last one (Michael Jackson themed) were the standouts. They had a lovely lounge singer in the bar area right outside the Piazza grande shops. They also had good music at one of the cozy lounge seaview bar. In general, I am glad we didn’t get spooked by the negative reviews and gave it a try. We had reasonable expectations and really enjoyed ourselves. The only issues we encountered were with the other passengers who acted like they didn’t know how to form a line and were rude to wait staff. We made it our personal mission to be extra nice to wait staff to try to make up for the jerks around us. By the last day when we had to get our passports to exit, we were really over the other rude passengers and their constant disregard for respecting lines. Also, after departing, my husband and I both became sick. We both ended up testing positive for COVID. I wish this had not occurred but I am not sure how this could have been avoided.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chillibonbon wrote a review Mar 2024
France35 contributions3 helpful votes
The good points:- • A good selection of pretty Caribbean islands and most of the excursions organized by MSC were interesting and good value. • Exceptionally smooth and easy embarkation/debarkation procedures. Particularly nice to have a senior officer on hand saying goodbye and thank you to us as we got off. • A good choice of musical entertainment in the evenings. • By far the majority of staff were friendly and helpful. (A few notable exceptions.) • Very comfortable cabin. The bed was great. I’d wondered if the noise of the engines and the movement might keep me awake but the engines were really quiet and the small movement was actually very soothing. I had the best sleep I’ve had in a long time. The not-so-good points:- • Although the ship’s staff responded quickly and positively to a couple of reviews I did of excursions (with a bottle of chilled fizzy wine in our cabin), MSC as a company isn’t responsive (I’d contacted them well in advance of our trip as I wanted to ask about vegan food. They’d sent an automated reply that someone would be in touch within a couple of days but no-one ever came back to me. I also sent what I hoped would be helpful feedback immediately after the cruise but almost 3 weeks later have had no acknowledgment). • It took 3 days on board of going to Reception, trying to find various senior members of staff, and asking in the restaurants before I was able to get a decent vegan meal. Out of 5,000 people on board, I can’t have been the only one with special dietary requests, and the Seaview restaurant was the one for “special needs”. Individual staff made huge efforts to cater for me but it was obvious they were a bit at sea (pardon the pun). The food was (mainly) edible but unimaginative and not at all what I expected from an international travel company. • The onboard environment is very noisy - from early morning to late night there are top-deck activities whose noise filters down to the passenger decks. This isn’t a problem if you sleep with the outside door closed. It’s also very glittery inside the ship - mirrors everywhere, sparkly staircases, and a strangely dark lighting. It took a few days to get used to. Once we’d acclimatized, it was okay but the environment might be difficult for some people.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kimberly S wrote a review Mar 2024
13 contributions46 helpful votes
First, we have sailed multiple lines and are experienced cruisers. We researched heavily online and knew what to expect beforehand. We were aware of the differences between MSC and others. Second, there are things that MSC does better than anyone else! We feel each cruise line has its strengths and weaknesses. What we loved: the beautiful ship! The ship was so new and clean. We love the ability to push a button to signal the cabin attendant do not disturb or to make up cabin. Much better than a magnet. Venchi is a must visit. The gelato and chocolate are worth splurging on! While there were less free venues to eat at, we enjoyed that the buffet opened at 10 pm to 1 am. So much more available than other ships at this hour. We had great food and service at the MDR. While the buffet didn't have as much variety from day to day as some ships, we really enjoyed the food. By the way, MSC ranks much higher than some other cruise lines (post covid) on quality of food, in our opinion. We really enjoyed the Michael Jackson show. We agree that it is one of the best shows at sea. We also enjoyed the other shows. MSC has worked hard to listen to feedback and the shows were geared to the American market. We were able to book (almost free) the drinks and WiFi package! Also, it was combined with kids go free. The price was phenomenal! We did not experience any problems with service. Occasionally, there was a wait at the bars, but some are busier than others and we quickly learned where and when to go. We found the staff friendly and accommodating. Many people complain about the elevators, being with grandma, we had to use the elevators. Personally, I feel like people's perception of the new system doesn't match reality. I often wait for elevators (traditional) just as long on other busy big ships. My daughter loved the kids club. We really enjoyed the family areas. We played foosball and table tennis (free). In our opinion, the value can't be beat!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Krissie D wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
To say MSC ruined my daughters wedding would be an understatement! MSC sold us a package on a cruise back in July 2023 for my daughters upcoming wedding and then turned back around, after all our guest had booked and paid for their cruise, and said they would no longer honor what was sold to us. The customer service reps were rude, inconsistent and literally said " your daughter will not get her dream wedding?" We fought in every way we could to try and make it work and had to end up canceling all of our guest reservation and lose money out of our pockets. Policys change all the time, but you should honor and tell your costumers that before they lose thousands of dollars. Our travel agent has mentioned had horrible it was to work with them and would never book another cruise with MSC ever again. They return calls days later and my daughters wedding was supposed to be in 80 days. Now we are scrambling to get her her dream wedding but never ever again will we work with MSC. We will make sure any one we know, does not ever travel with them. Calls never returned. Promises broken and a lot of money lost. Very disappointing!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
4 Night Cruise to the Mediterranean
Departure date
Monday, 24-04-22
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.