We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vancouver to Whitehorse Return”
Review of Air Canada


Reviewed January 1, 2018

My husband and I flew with Air Canada Express return from Vancouver to Whitehorse and we were very impressed. I'm a nervous flyer and was worried when I saw the size of the CRJ900 Bombardier plane but it was the smoothest flight of our trip. The plane was quite new with great inflight entertainment and drink service. We upgraded our seats to exit row 12 and it was the most leg room we have ever had on a plane. Also impressed that upon self check in we were given the option to upgrade to Business class and the additional price was given upfront. We chose to stay in our exit row as it was only a short flight but it was great to have the option.

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,618 - 6,622 of 18,273 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2018

Had to see the New Year in at the airport because the flight was almost 3 hours late. Instead of arriving at around 8 pm with plenty of time to set the table and see the New Year in with my family we were stranded at the Pearson in freezing cold and cam home at about 1 am. Shame!

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Mamikaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Air Canada flies this route several times a day. Later in the day, and especially in bad winter weather, there can be some delays. Our return flight to Toronto was about an hour late in the evening. Delays stack up and can inconvenience you, but expect it and relax.

Date of travel: December 2017
Thank TrueNorth179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We flew from Seattle to Taipei connecting at Vancouver, Canada.
When we almost arrive Vancouver, the pilot said there was a weather and "logistic" issues while we had clear sunny day and we landed Victoria, BC. As soon as we landed, airplane was refueled and flew to Vancouver. The weather was clear in Vancouver also. When we arrived Vancouver, we realized we missed the flight to Taipei. The Canadian custom informed us but not Air Canada.
Group of us missed Taipei flight went to see Air Canada but there was no help for 6 hours. And Air Canada even yelled at us as if it was our fault. For the 6 hours they did not provide any status. There were sufficient seats for other airlines and next day flights we checked on web but Air Canada told us to pay extra money and reserve by ourselves. Flying overseas for last 30 years, I have never see such rude customer service.
Finally they assigned us next day flight flying to Hong Kong, then Taipei. We asked shorter route such as Japan but they yelled to us that there was no seat available.

Air Canada put us overnight at 1 star hotel. We were so tired standing all day waiting for Air Canada's response and the hotel they put us was so bad.

The connection at Hong Kong was so short that by the time we arrived Taipei, the luggage were not arrived. We waited and waited luggage at Taipei without informed us the delay of luggage. Air Canada told us to wait for the luggage.
At the airport, we asked Cathy airline representative and they helped us identify the location of luggage and shipped the luggage to Taipei the next day, then from Taipei airport, the Cathay airline (not Air Canada) helped us shipped luggage to our home the following day. It was so thankful to Cathay airline but because we were working on the luggage so late in night, we missed the train in Taipei and we ended up going back home by taxi which was so expensive.
Other passenger was routed later flight but luggage came with them so they arrived 20 minutes later but they were able to take train.
My pleasant trip to Taipei becomes such nightmare. We contacted customer service but no help at all.
For our return flight, Air Canada delayed again for another 1.8 hours.
It is so hard to believe Air Canada is still in business.
Air Canada should be removed from Star Alliance. Horrible Airline.

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank James20180101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We had read and heard that Air Canada was not a great airline, but actually the flight attendants were quite good, and even the food wasn't too bad. My entertainment console was not working properly at all, so it made for a VERY long flight across the Atlantic! And I had read all of the books I had brought for the trip! However, like another passenger who also got very restless just sitting in the seat, I ended up visiting with one of the flight attendants for quite awhile while other people slept. It made the time more tolerable when she wasn't busy.

Date of travel: October 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank LaurieB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC