We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class in Price Only”
Review of Alaska Airlines


Reviewed June 10, 2024

Alaska Airlines first class is in price only. There should be a minimum criteria to meet first class standards. Yes, there were only two seats in each row. That was it for comfort. We did have a meal and it was fine. There was a red wine blind that needed a better blinder. My seat failed to recline but was comfortable. There are no TVs to watch the 800 movies. Free access to the movie area is provided for a phone, tablet, etc to access the movies. That is if a connection could be made. My wife was unable to make a connection even with assistance from a flight attendant. I wasn’t interested in watching a movie on my phone.
The service for the “first class” area was outstanding, actually far exceeding all other flight attendants we have encountered on domestic and international flights. Brad was the best from start to finish; he made up for the disappointment with the physical aspects of “first class”. Brad started with drinks as we sat waiting to leave, that was expected. He then shared what to expect food a meal and snacks. Including when to expect each during the flight. Now it’s time for him to make the usual announcement to prepare us to leaving the airport that including the safety items. When he finished there was a spontaneous applause, so loud it had to include most of the passengers. (That was a first for us.) After take off he then approached us to discuss food and drink and he addressed us by name. He handed us a personal note he had made, one for each pair in “first class.” How cool was that and another first. Brad was busy the entire flight checking on passengers’ drink needs, taking away trash, etc. All done with a smile. He used his cell phone to alert us to thing such as “meal coming in five minutes” that he showed passengers in each row. Another first.
Many good actions during the entire flight. Upon landing at Lihue, Kauai, he informed us about Getting off the plane and locating the luggage, shared interesting items about Kauai and possible attractions and excursions to consider on the Garden Island. He mentioned the importance of considering supporting local merchants. Brad provided a warm, friendly and informative welcome to Kauai that must had been appreciated by first time visitors. Again, another first. His outstanding service deserved a standing ovation and hand shake. Thank you Brad.
First class seating stilled sucked, should not be called first or business class and is over priced.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (17,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 17,444 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2024

Flew from MCO to Seattle and back a week later. Both experiences were absolutely horrible. The flight attendants were rude and lazy, and both flights were late. On the flight from Seattle to MCO coming back, they also had no hot water, no coffee, no tea. If you wanted something, you had to walk to the back while the flight attendants were on their phones and ask them for a cup of water. Never again.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 9, 2024

The only good about the flight was that I didn't pay for them; my son bought these tickets for us.

The rest was bad:
- flight attendants were rude, short of being aggressive.
- the seats suck: no recline, not even the usual fraction of a degree other airlines allow.
- no entertainment whatsoever
- seats are super narrow: I was seating with people who were not big, but we all were extremely uncomfortable.
- but most importantly, staff doesn't even try to pretend they care about us, their clients: from outride rudeness to being visibly irritated when asked for simplest help.

Terrible experience. Will most definitely use different airline next time.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank DayTrip12385891081
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 9, 2024

They are going downhill fast. Customer service has been absolutely terrible a simple mistaken bag and this is how they deal with it.” Hi , this is Alaska Airlines baggage . I'm just calling to let you know that if the bag is not returned within the next next . 30 to 40 minutes we are filing a police report now so the police will be getting in contact with you . That is considered theft because you . We have your bag here and you are refusing to bring back the bag so as we speak right now , we are calling the airport police give us a call back 9 0 7- 2 6 6- 7 9 5 2 option five thank you ” No mind you nobody had refused to return the bag. It was already on its way to be returned. They just chose to get really nasty and disrespectful.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 8, 2024

All of our flights were delayed as much as 2 hours. Landing in RDU felt like our eardrums were going to bust. Never will I fly with them again.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.