We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with smiles; skilled and cool pilots”
Review of Austrian Airlines


Reviewed March 10, 2020

The weather was horrible, very, very stormy, so that the flight was already delayed in Amsterdam. On the postponed flight - a different, larger airplane, which obviously combined the passengers of 2 flights - the passenger checking was a bit like a Sherlock Holmes & Watson game: 3 Sherlocks and 5 Watson! It was fun to watch how they managed the situation - congrats!
The landing procedure was very bumpy due to the storm. The first landing attempt didn't work, so the plane started through and we took another round over Vienna. The pilot was very cool and totally calm, even a bit funny. And they even apologized for the delay and the bumpy flight! As if it was their fault! I am glad each and every security measure is taken, and if it means to postpone the flight, then that is fine with me.
Thanks, Austrian Airlines and team!

PS: Also, the ticket, which I bought pretty late directly at Austrian Airlines, was cheaper than anything on any of those booking platforms!

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank rowild_from_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (8,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 8,160 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

Austrian‘s non-stop Service to New York JFK-Airport is on a 767-300 plane with 1-2-1 Business Class configuration. The service is friendly and efficient. Lunch is exquisite and cooked on board by a cook who also distributes the menus. As a dessert I tried the Viennese ice coffee, which comes in a tall glass filled with hot coffee and a scoop of vanilla ice-Creme! Wonderful!
I have rarely flown an airline in First or Business that served food as good as on this flight. Before landing they serve a small meal, again fresh and very good meal.
The seat goes completely flat with enough space to find sleep on a rather big down pillow and a very warm blanket. The seat could be wider and a bit more comfortable - here you definitely find room for improvement as with most airline business class seats.

Date of travel: February 2020
1  Thank peterp1010Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2020

Nice friendly staff and good food, but the flight was was very uncomfortable due to the lack of space between the seats, and trying to eat the on board meals was a juggling act. The tables are too small and the tray was slightly bowed so that it wouldn't stay still and kept spinning! Very difficult to eat without spilling food onto your lap.

The Boeing 777 is a lovely smooth plane but spoilt by the airline having squeezed too many seats into it., obviously to try and maximise profit at the expense of passenger's comfort. Have flown with SAA previously and they provide a lot more space.and comfort.

Too many passengers were permitted to exceed the cabin baggage allowance which meant other passengers couldn't get theirs into the overhead lockers. Airlines should be more rigid about this so that everyone is treated equally for the Class they are flying in.

Also the toilet ran out of soap for the wash basin quite early in the flight. BAD bearing in mind the Coronavirus outbreak!

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2020

First flight the morning to Lyon. Boarding is on time but we stayed for a long time waiting for another crew member to be able to fly. If I don't like Austrian crew uniform who is all red, this is not a reason to put only three stars. But I imagined that Austrian was at the same level than Swiss or Lufthansa. What a huge disappointment!

The level is just upper Brussels Airlines who is one of the lowcost in the group. Flying in business class in Austrian is absolutly a waste of money. On the previous flight the crew wasn't friendly and the food so so. This morning flight was nice to test the taste of Austrian food I liked. Wrong way! A melt of cereals and yogurt who looks like cat vomit, a thin slice of cheese who was so thin that I didn't see it under a thin slice of ham.

It was my worth breakfast in business class of my life. The same level than Austrian Lounge in Vienna. A business class lounge where the only hot part of the breakfast was an omelet. I will never use again these company.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank RV2Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2020

I think this is the European airline that ranks the highest. Courteous staff on the ground and in the air. Wonderful service too. Plus, food onboard is very good. Departed on time and even arrived early.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank margaretc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC