We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable flight out to Ethiopia and back but .....”
Review of Ethiopian Airlines


Reviewed November 16, 2018

Plane comfortable and food OK. Price of seats good and our travel company were able to choose our seats before we checked in online which was good. In flight entertainment system was dire as were the uncomfortable headphones. The film kept stopping and I had to start again and then choose 'continue viewing option'. This happened on the flight out and back. Also the high number of announcements that were spoken so fast to make them impossible to understand drove me mad. Coming into land at Heathrow the crew did not check seat belts nor seat positions. They were nowhere to be see. Overall OK but inflight entertainment was the worst thing really.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 3,854 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

Ethiopian Airlines from DC to Adis Abbaba was a whole new experience. The flight attendants cooked their own dinners. The travelers served themselves out of the kitchen, including food, wine and beer.

The seats didn't recline. The outlets to charge electronics did not work. There was no entertainment available.

Other travelers from Ethiopia were friendly and seemed used to the situation.

Date of travel: November 2018
3  Thank Tavie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2018

Most airlines now charge for seat selection in advance, unless you have certain level of loyalty points. That’s works if you fly frequently with the same airline or alliance. Going to Zimbabwe I have always flown Emirates as they also fly from Birmingham. Also cheaper too. Not this time, it was cheaper to drive to Heathrow, park and fly with Ethiopian, no brainer. The generous luggage allowance too. The flight crew was professional and friendly. Meal time though I was offered a choice between beef and chicken, the flight attend didn’t have the chicken on her trolley. I had to wait ages to get it, that’s the only gripe.
The overall journey time is not bad and you get to Harare mid afternoon.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2018

All faith in the airline to safely deal with international travel but internal transfers were dysfunctional and unpredictable. Official flight notifications contradict reality, and twice the staff didn’t know what time flights were taking off.
Tip....... be very aware, and always double check everything you’re told.

Date of travel: February 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2018

I had an uneventful flight from Addis Ababa to Washington Dulles. The seat was comfortable but it was a bit of a struggle to get it to convert to the flat-bed position. The movie selection was a bit weak but I found a couple that I watched anyway. The food was OK but nothing to get excited about. The flight attendants were responsive whenever I asked for something but they spent most of their time in the galley. The plane was a Boeing 777 that has probably been in-service for quite a while. The seat configuration in Business was 2-3-2 and it lacked a lot of the newer amenities like direct access to the aisle for all. The business lounge in Addis was OK but no where the quality of some of the European lounges like Frankfurt or Zurich. All-in-all, it was a decent value for the fare that I paid.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC