We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Ethiopian Airlines


Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Now i can simply say cheap is always expensive, baggage problems, very rude staff and not helpful, alwys delay in time the food not fresh i would never recommend this airline to anyone, you will be disappointed.

Date of travel: January 2018
2  Thank TANZANIAEXCLUSIVE_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in business class from São Paulo to Adis Abeba and it was a good surprise - very friendly and smiley staff and very acceptable comfort .

Date of travel: November 2018
1  Thank Eduardosm729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We flew business class with Ethiopian Airlines, but the service and experience was the worst ever.

The first leg of our trip (Cape Town to Ethiopia) was an older plane which was falling apart, but the worst was when we arrived at the airport in Addis Ababa. Possibly the worst airport in the world. Disorganized and the toilets are very dirty.

The second leg of our trip was with a newer plane, but when we arrived in Barcelona one of our bags was badly damaged and the other one was missing. We have contacted the airlines several times at our own cost with little support from them and only 4 days later we received the lost bag, but it was also damaged.

They cancelled the route to Barcelona and forced us to take an earlier flight to Frankfurt, or we had to pay our own cost to Madrid.

After several letters and more than 4 months, we have not received any cost for the damaged baggage.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank ISIKHALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The connections in Addis are convenient when travelling to East Africa. As for service - satisfactory. As for comfort, passable. Staff - decent enough. Sorry ET - no 5 stars. But have used and will use again.

Date of travel: November 2018
Thank pharming_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The beginning of the flight in Accra was ok, with boarding colour-coded and relatively organised. The food was ok as was the service though I would have thought that staff could have brought round more drinks. The flight arrived in Addis on time.

Then those of us in transit were in queues waiting to be accommodated overnight for more than three hours! Eventually a supervisor reported that there were no rooms available as the hotels had given them out due a big Africa Union meeting.

I write this in the Ethiopian Airlines lounge where we were eventually given something to eat and drink. Not a good experience. I am very disappointed.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank ninachachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC