We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious plane with cold as ice crew staff”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

I haven’t flown Etihad in a while. I was pleasantly surprised with new enhancement in the business class seats. Very calm and luxurious design with very easy to use control button on A380. Food was good and served at your request with lots of flexibility on when and what to eat.
When I pressed the call button, they came to respond to my request and all good.
Here is the down side: very mechanical staff with cold as ice attitude.
They serve meals without any smile nor emotions, almost robotic. Once served, they do not asked proactively if I want a refill for coffee and wine etc. I constantly had to ask for it. Other airline crew would alway ask. They all seemed tired and did not want to be on the flight. Almost looked miserable.

I will give it a high rating since plane and food was good, but crew was absolute a miss on customer service.

I am not sure if I would recommend this airline since so many other choices with great business class design and food.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
3  Thank Mmleee450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi Mmleee450,

Thank you for letting us know about your trip with us. We are sorry to hear it was not as expected and hope to see you again so we can make you change your mind. We will pass on your feedback as we always aim to improve our future services. Thank you. *Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,223 - 3,227 of 10,962 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

A380 service from AUH to SYD. Flight departed 40 odd minutes late through no fault of the airline (passenger disembarked).

Service was very professional, meals were at the required temperature and the flight attendant delivered at the requested time. Vegetable flan - highly recommended. Breakfast omelette- very good

Seat folds completely flat for an excellent sleep.

IFE - movies specifically are a bit limited and dated. Live tv news content great. Screen is massive- largest of any airline

Wifi available ( although I didn’t use).

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank finderdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi finderdiner,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are happy you had a nice time on board and look forward to seeing you again. *Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

Considering a very long flight from London to Melbourne through Abu Dhabi, the plane is uncomfortable, sits are very narrow and space between sits is too tight, food is also terrible and their staff know that. I thought Etihad was a classy airline but not at all, not even cheap, best fly with someone else.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank hugo fernando q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi Hugo, thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent travel from London to Melbourne, via Abu Dhabi. We regret to learn that your in-flight experience did not meet with your expectations and will be sure to share your feedback with our guest experience team for their review and future consideration. Thanks *Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

Was flying to London by etihad. It was First and probably the last experience as found the staff very curt and unwilling to help. The hostess accidentally dropped an overhead stored metal bottle on a child, completely unapologetic and perhaps that’s the way they treat Asians. Two different sets of attitude fr the fliers. completely unacceptable and highly unprofessional in today’s world.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank Manisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi Manisha, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you were left unhappy with the service provided on your recent travel to London. As an airline, we do not tolerate racism of any description and will be sure to share your comments with our cabin crew performance managers for further review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. *Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Etihad have no after sale service! After cancelling our flight to Brisbane they bundled us into a bus for a 5 + hour trip to Manchester, no one from Etihad to meet us at Manchester, no fast track recheckin and then lied to us about availability of a direct flight to Brisbane fron Abi Dhabi. Because we left fttom an EU airport (eventually), we are entitled to reimbursement-contacted their customer service team, no reply. Contacted via Facebook, reply but zero help, alwsys 'we are looking into this for you'. Follow the Etihad posts, lots of similar complaints, we are taking legal action againt them. Will never fly with them again, nor recommend them.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank sharontravel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to learn of the difficulties you experienced with your recent travel. We would like to investigate this further for you, can we ask that you send your feedback, along with your ticket number to socialmedia@etihad.ae and we will create a case for you. Once your case has been created, it will be assigned to an officer for review and investigation. After the review has been completed, a member of the team will be in touch with you. Thanks *Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC