We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went downhill unfortunately ”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

Flew to uk for a family visit. Have flew with them before and loved the service we were so disappointed this time. Boarding was out of control nobody bothering to who was being called meaning queues a mile long so why did the ground crew let them board first when the had been repeatedly told to sit back down? Service on board was shocking the crew were verging on rude. No drink service throughout and tuts when people were buzzing for drinks. Then drinks not turning up! Stuck on the plane with people all wondering what was going on - over 2 hours with no announcements and staff getting annoyed with people asking what would happen with missed connections - really not good enough oh and finally no kits with eyemasks etc either anymore.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank The4Gilberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

HI there, we are sorry to hear about your experience. We expect our staff to deliver excellent service to our guests and we apologize if it was not the case. Our amenity kids are available on board on night flights on request from the Cabin Crew or it can be purchased on board now. Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,892 - 2,896 of 11,205 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2017

Really good flight,but still not up to Qatar Airlines.Although Etihad is now not Giving a chauffeur to and from the airports,they honoured mine as I booked last year which was generous of them as my journey from Heathrow to Brighton is about 2 hours.I would definitely fly with them again.Their lounge in Abu Dhabi is great with wonderful food,although at Heathrow it isn’t as good.I find Middle Eastern Airlines to be the best as regards new planes,service and food.I think the only other airline that could compete is Singapore.Hope this information is useful

2  Thank susanemellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Hi Susan, thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you liked the flights with us as well as the food and our lounges. We are looking forward to welcoming you on board again soon. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile

Etihad service is quiet efficient on the short flights. The flight time arround 50 min and god a small package with sandwich and drinks.

Good space as well.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Koek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your flights with us. We are looking forward to seeing you on board again soon. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017

Today I had to cancel my flight due to medical reasons. When I spoke with the airlines representative I was told that I would lose $300/ticket. In the past when I had to cancel my flight on United due to health reasons, they needed a doctor's verification and gave me a full refund. So the moral of the story, if you can please don't travel Etihad. Use United/Lufthansa or other more compassionate airlines. Think twice (may be four times) before you buy a ticket on Etihad!!

    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
3  Thank skumara2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that you had to cancel your ticket because of medical reasons. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cancellation process. Thank you for sharing it with us as it will help us to improve the experiences for our guests. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile

Etihad is the best airline in the world. My family and I had the world's best first flight ever. It was just amazing . Can't wait to travel Etihad again

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Beuls F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Thank you very much for your Feedback, we are happy to hear that you had a great flight with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again on board soon. *Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC