We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a lifetime flight with a Captain Friend flying his B747 to New York from Amsterdam and return”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed September 9, 2019

I had a Staff Travel experience flying on a B747 with special dispensation to sit with the flight deck crew as the Cpt was a good friend of mine and I had worked for 15 years with KLM.I checked in with the crew at flight briefing and Boarded with the crew.The whole flight from take off to landing was an adventure in itself.The aircraft was a Combi half freight and passenger config.I saw, Horses 15 in total,in the freight compartment during the flight with the grooms feeding and looking after the animals.The rest of the flight was just extremely interesting listening to ATC and crew procedure in the cockpit.The B747 is an amazing aircraft to fly in something I will never forget.I stayed with the crew for two nights at their Hotel in New York and then did the whole journey again this time on a full passenger flight.The cabin crew looked after me with the best service they could offer.I was treated like Royalty

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank BarryP200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, social media agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

We are glad that you had a wonderful trip and great customer service experience, Barry. May all your travels with us be just as enjoyable as the last. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (31,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,072 of 31,077 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019

The difference between an cheap operator and one of the national brands shows at every point in the journey, simple online check in, easy baggage drop off, helpful staff, comfortable seats, excellent air conditioning and air pressure throughout, smoot take off and landing. There was a delay due to issues at Schipol but that was handled very well and did not detract from a good experience overall

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank PMJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, social media agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

We're glad you had a pleasant experience flying with us and you are satisfied with our services. Thank you for choosing KLM and we wish to welcome you on board again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

The Flight Crew was great - no issues there. Flight attendants even keep the lavatories clean, haven't seen that before on any airline.

The 747 was build for short skinny people, or so it seemed. Even getting out of the aisle seat took an effort, it wasn't comfortable for older folks.

It will be a longtime before we fly KLM again.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Spencer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, social media agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Spencer. We're sorry to read about the inconvenience during the flight specifically with the seats. We hope to provide you with a more satisfactory travel experience the next time you fly with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

KLM Airlines always provides excellent service,on time boarding. It is a non stop flight and I would highly recomment it to anyone travelling from Edmonton,Canada to Europe. It is the fastest connection

Date of travel: July 2019
Thank ssyyssaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, social media agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

We're delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations on board. Thank you for choosing KLM and we hope to travel more with you in the future and serve you in the best way we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Basically first class with economy pricing. Was very impressed :) Entertainment, food, service and cleanliness were superb to any Delta or United flight.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, social media agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

We're glad that you had a great experience flying with us, Katie. We hope to travel more with you in the future and serve you in the best way we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC