We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lufthansa the best airline going”
Review of Lufthansa


Reviewed February 10, 2019

Lufthansa is my favorite airline. Efficient, professional and accomodating. I traveled from Boston to Vienna right before Christmas. The Airline crew was phenominal.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 489susanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (35,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,636 - 4,640 of 35,911 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2019

After swearing I wouldn't voluntarily take Lufthansa again, work booked me aboard what has rapidly, to my mind at least, become Europe's most dysfunctional, customer unfriendly airline flying through an airport (Frankfurt) that is fast outdoing Charles de Gaulle for incompetence and queues.

Having booked me in a rush, I needed to change flights to arrive a day earlier. The fare was already business class, costing over €400. But because it was the a fixed schedule, the itinerary couldn't be changed. Fair enough. Any other airline, you'd upgrade the flight or pay some other form of supplement, and buy the flexibility that you need to make the change ... Not Lufthansa. There is ZERO flexibility. It cannot be upgraded to a different booking class. And so you are lumbered with what you bought. Compounding matters, there were the same queues and lack of staff at the transit queue in Frankfurt - the elderly and new parents with babies made to queue for over 40 mins in an unmarked mass of jostling passengers running increasingly late for their connections.

Nuts and bolts, while the on board service is okay, as a frequent traveller with a bunch of airlines, Lufthansa is the one that I'd steer well clear of. German organisation is a myth these days - even Air France runs a better all-round service.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank IWABR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2019

I flew economy class from Frankfurt to New York on Airbus 340-600. The aircraft has a unique feature of having economy class lavatories clustered together on the below floor connected by the stair. In fact I liked this arrangement as there is not much noise and clutters on the main floor. IFE was efficient and inflight meal service was decent enough. At Frankfurt airport, the Z wing where US flights depart is stretched so long, that if your boarding gate is towards the end of the wing, you should set aside good 20 minutes so try to be at your gate in good time.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank eagle32016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

This flight was on an Airbus 340 from FRA to Kuwait then on to Dammam. The seat was decent though a bit narrow and not comparable in any way to the business class seat I had on my previous flight from SFO to FRA which was excellent. The food was inedible! The worst I have ever had on Lufthansa. The stopover in Kuwait was short ( most of the passengers got off the plane there) and the second leg to Dammam was good.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank 222ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Flight was on on Airbus 330. I had an aisle seat in the middle row of the front business section. The seat reclines nicely but is awfully narrow even for a fairly small person like me. Worst of all, when In sleeping position, there is no room for the feet to be side by side and one foot has to rest on top of the other. Aside from this, the food was the usual Lufthansa fare: mediocre at best. When will Lufthansa revamp its A 330’s to modern standards with only 4 seats across?

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank 222ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC