We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands at Grace Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sibonne Beach Hotel(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Somerset on Grace Bay(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Grace(Grace Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Vele Resort(Grace Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace Bay Suites(Providenciales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,004)
Filter reviews
2,004 results
Traveller rating
1,030
718
150
61
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,030
718
150
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewhemingways restaurantsands resortscreened in porchrum punchfull kitchengrocery storewasher and dryeran umbrellahobie catsmain poolcoral gardensother resortspaddle boardsbeautiful beachtiki hutliving room
Filter
Updating list...
1,308 - 1,313 of 2,004 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back and was totally pleased with the service and the rooms. Samuel, took excellent care of us from the time we arrived until we left. He bent over backwards to get us an upgrade room with a better view and more space. He seemed to really care about making our stay the best it could be. I really can't say enough about the personal service he provided us. We stay in resorts all over the place and feel the Sands is a terrific value.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to Hemingways (the restaurant there) if you plan to get a quite night of sleep - it can get very noisy at times.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sands April 18-22. After a long travel day, we were greeted by friendly staff and much needed rum punches! We stayed in a garden studio, one of the furthest from the beach but had a view of the grounds all the way to the ocean. This is a casual, family hotel, certainly not a 5 star, but our room was fine, grounds were beautiful. We spent our days on the beach-got a palapa hut everyday- and it was heavenly! The beach in front of the Sands is wide and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas to go around. We enjoyed the meals and drinks we had at Hemingways. We would definitely return! One suggestion for management -pillow top mattress covers for that very firm bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lehighvalleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Love this resort and it's location. Reasonably priced resort with lots of things to do and the best beach in the caribbean. Staff really cares that you have everything you need. They were quick to set up umbrellas and beach chairs for everyone. Fresh towels and kayaks, hobie cats, and paddle boards available for free!! We went there with 10 people and never felt like we were taking up too much space.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trikadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back from spending ten fantastic weeks at The Sands Resort. We have chosen to stay at The Sands for the last few years. We've explored other condo options on Grace Bay, but The Sands will be our choice again next year. We just love the accommodations, service, casual atmosphere of this resort and its central location.

We choose to stay in an oceanview studio suite. Perfect for us to have breakfast and lunch in then we enjoy dinner out most evenings. Grocery shopping which is located in the main shopping center of GraceBay is just a 15-minute comfortable walk on the sidewalk. There are many restaurant options within this 15 minute walk. A couple of our favorites are Bella Luna and Upstairs Bar and Grill. Also just a 5-minute walk west on the beach to “Bay Bistro” and 10-minute walk to “Mango Reef.” We also love these two restaurants but there are many other within walking distance. Other nice dining options are in Turtle Cove when we would take a taxi which is approximately $12 one-way for two persons. We take a flashlight with us for our evening walks to restaurants. Never encountered any safety or security problems.

We have been most satisfied with the housekeeping service, management, concierge, and beach attendants. Each year staff is great and most accommodating. We are also very happy with the furniture, screened in balcony, kitchen accommodations, etc. Each suite has its own hot water tank so no problem there…

If any electrical or plumbing problems should arise, a call to the front desk and they will be attended to immediately. Have never had to use the a/c because we open the sliding doors to the screened balcony at night plus our front door has a transom which provides a through draft. Suites also have central fans. We appreciate the computers and printer available in the hospitality suite. Also in the hospitality suite is a fitness center, spa, large ice machine and TV. Wireless connection is good.

No matter which of the 6 buildings you choose, you can easily walk barefoot in a minute or two to the beach.

Beach front is expansive, spectacular and immaculate (raked daily early am). Free snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards, hobies, bikes, tennis courts for registered guests. Hot tub for adults in the pool area. The pool area is expansive and has umbrellas and comfortable loungers. We sit in that area sometimes when it gets windy! The rest of the time we are on the beach.

Weekly cocktail party around the pool for owners and registered guests is lots of fun--drinks, snacks and live music.

Onsite restaurant, Hemingways, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hemingway's
had great food and service, indoor and outdoor seating, and a spectacular view of the ocean and sunset. Again, casual and relaxing.

Snorkeling at Bight Reef is a 30-minute walk west on the beach. Fun to walk by all the other resorts including Beaches on the way.

Weather cooperated fully this year. We were there all of February and March. Swimming and snorkeling in the beautiful ocean, sitting/reading in the sun and walking the beach at sunrise every day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank repeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2wk stay at the Sands. From our seamless check-in (with our complimentary rum punch) to check-out we had a great vacation. Grace Bay is simply breathtaking. We took advantage of the complimentary snorkel gear daily. So amazing to find huge star red star fish, conch, sand dollars and a sting ray right off the beach in front of our chairs. The water is so calm, very little seaweed, and resort offers lots of fun water toys for all. We had no problem getting beach chairs and even umbrellas when we needed them. Beach towels always plentiful. Pools and grounds very well maintained, and on tues nights around the pool they have a managers night with complimentary snacks, beer and rum punch.
Having Hemingways as a close option for meals that you could charge to your room was great. It was so freeing not having to carry around cash or ccards all the time. The resort has a taxi for $9 to the local IGA daily 9am and 6:30pm where you can even get your alcohol. We booked an excursion right at the resort where the beach towel hut is. They were great and it was a decent price. They picked us up and dropped us off on the beach right in front of the resort.

We got a great deal on Jetsetter for a 1bdrm courtyard view room that includes kitchenette, mini fridge, microwave, and stand up shower. Our little condo was in average condition with average decor. It was nice - nothing horrible nothing special either but definitely no view of anything. Our room was very clean no bugs, plenty of towels, and the a/c worked great. Really this type of room is a connecting condo to a larger one separated by a locked door. In honesty we heard the family next door so clearly and all of their personal issues. With this said the two of us really didn't spend much time in the room during the day and at night we made our dinner reservations at a time that they seemed to need more privacy. When we came back they were all in bed so we would literally whisper and keep the tv volume low in hopes that they couldn't hear us. While at first this was odd we didn't let it impact our trip and after a few days we just didn't even think about it any more. This may be important to some that don't want to whisper or who make dinners in their room often and didn't want feel that they are on someone else's vacation...

Staff was amazing always hard working, smiling, and willing to help. In fact everyone on TCI was so friendly it made us feel safe and really welcome to share their island. Three restaurants that made our stay so special and are easy to get to were Coco Bistro, Coyaba, Lemon Cafe.

In general we noticed that this resort was mostly made up of families. We really lucked out because all of them were great and very respectful of other guests around them. If you are looking for more of a scene than this may not be the place for you. For us it was perfect for what we were looking for... a quiet and clean spot to enjoy paradise, read a book and have a little splash of adventure.

Room Tip: Be prepared that in general TCI is an expensive Island for food, grocery, and gas.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RhodeIslandBlinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews