We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
774
73
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
774
73
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews claire and stu happy hour honesty bar owners suite slipper bath warkworth castle hot tub room picnic complimentary cheese and wine ethel nobel fresh milk hash little touches smoked haddock biscuits dvd library antique furniture
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 857 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2018

The B&B comprises 2 properties that some time in the past have been made into one, which creates an interesting route to some rooms requiring going down a few stairs before going up again. There were 3 rooms on the first floor in this section of the house, though I'm not sure where the others are.

First impressions are very important, and seeing that we had two chairs in the room rather than the usual one was very positive. The bed and furniture are traditional in design which is in keeping with the age of the house. The bathroom had both bath and shower and a heated towel rail that did get rather hot, so take care. Rather than coffee sachets, ground coffee and a cafatiere were provided, along with a variety of tea, and some very welcome fresh milk provided in a flask. Also some real biscuits. With a road facing window we were concerned about traffic noise, but there is minimal traffic at night so no sleep disturbance.

Again with so many B&B dispensing with a lounge, we found the lounge very welcome and made good use of it for reading and relaxing in the early evening. This is where the complimentary cheese, cake and wine are served around 5pm. The lounge also has the bar where guests simply make a record of what they have taken. The lounge is very cosy and full of interesting trinkets.

The breakfast room looks onto the back garden though in March there was little to see. Though the range from the buffet items is not large, it is of high quality, especially the fruit, as is the mixed toast and the coffee. There is a larger range of cooked breakfasts that average, to suit all tastes. The 'Full English' that we chose was well presented, perfectly cooked and the bacon free from fat. Extra drinks and toast are offered if you have finished.

Overall, plenty of those little extras that are welcome but too seldom found elsewhere, to make the stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Use the website to see the photos and decide which room suits your taste.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Claire is an amazing hostess with the warmest welcome you could imagine.The B&B is gorgeous, a fabulous mix of old world charm & modern facilities which blended excellently.Everything was spotless & nothing was a trouble.Lovely bathroom,robes& slippers.Plenty of teas & coffees with lovely biscuits & chocolates Warm roaring fire in sitting room ,wine & cheese in the afternoon,honesty bar,great.Breakfast beautiful choice ,lovely garden room .Could not fault anything.Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely view of Roxburgh Castle.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mauray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

‘Lovely stay, The character of the hotel was wonderful. The facilities and complimentary items were great.
Staff were friendly and the food at breakfast was delicious.
Loved the pictures, furniture and decor around the house.
The whole experience was restful and relaxing.loved it all.

Room Tip: We looked over the side of the hotel, it was quiet and cosy
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TracyandJulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Quirky slant on a B&B which will suit some if not others. Sitting on a tilt in a street in the shadows of Castle Warkworth there is not much externally to set it apart and the closed entrance door is opened by a friendly enough chap and your invited to sit in a small reception room. Then shown to your room Fawlty Tower style down stairs along a corridor and then upstairs again. Furnished in an antique shop style a feel of stepping back into a bygone age. Mattress uncomfortable. Floors creaking. Wardrobe rattling. Bathroom awkward, protruding towel rail burning. Bath taps inaccessible behind shower screen ! But lovely breakfast and staffed with friendly faces.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

When we first read this review, we honestly thought it was a joke, bud sadly it isn't!



Tilt- we are on a small incline, of which Im afraid we are powerless to change.

Small reception room?? We do a lot of travelling ourselves and we really can't think of any other B&B's that can boast a reception area large enough to house a small sofa, two chairs and a grand piano, still leaving plenty of room for several guests to move freely, how on earth anyone can describe this as small is a mystery, or were you expecting a reception area similar to a large hotel?

Shown to a room Fawlty Towers style?? I can't even comment.

Mattress uncomfortable? Its less than 6 months old and as with all of our beds, its covered in a thick, top quality feather topper.

Yes, a couple of our floors creak when walked on (the house was built in 1886) but not to an extent that it is a problem or has ever been an issue for anyone else.

Im unsure how the wardrobe rattled, its a huge french antique armoire, that is VERY sturdy.

I think sadly that it was just a case of Roxbro House simply not being to this guests taste, which is a pity as our site and photos and most of our other reviews clearly describe the ethos behind Roxbro House.

Its just a shame that when someone has clearly booked an establishment, which isn't to their taste, they have to mark so harshly, when in actual fact we have delivered exactly what it says on the tin!

Anyway, you simply can't please everybody all of the time and looking at other reviews you have left for other establishments, it would seem you are pretty critical of most places.

All the best

Basil and Sybil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful stay. Very clean. Will definitely visit again . We stopped in the owners suite . Amazing. Hosts were very friendly breakfast choice very good. Wine and cheese in lounge on an afternoon an added bonus

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews