We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
62
62
29
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
62
29
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location small town fishing village bread great service private beach umbrellas shower shops balcony towels stroll sea world sleep wifi lifeguards
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 176 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Nice hotel, clean and on the beach. Good staff - very friendly. The breakfast could use a bit of variation and I'd definitely go with rooms that are directly facing the sea rather than those with angled views/ balconies. Great plus is a central location but still having direct beach access.

Room Tip: Directly sea facing rather than those in the middle section with angled views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016

pros : Location is amazing, so close to the beach and right in the city, Nice staff, ok Wi-Fi, rooms are well equipped (towel rack, lot of storage, nice size, fridge, extra pillows/blanket), good price
Cons : rooms haven't been updated for a long time, shower is tiny, A/C is noisy, don't leave food in the room, you will get ants, don't go to the hotel restaurant !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

We stayed there this month, lovely staff, we didn't have much Italian and the hotel didn't have much English but we got by! The first night our room wasn't great but thankfully they were able to move us to a nicer room. The hotel is on the beach and the lifeguards are really helpful setting up sun loungers etc., hotel supply towels etc so no need to bring beach towels. Very quiet place, no shops really so during the day not much to do but chill by the beach (not necessarily a bad thing!), if you're going to Scoglitti this is the best place to stay, staff a really friendly, the breakfasts weren't great, very basic, no eggs to order etc, but other than that I'd recommend!

Room Tip: Avoid room 142, very noisy as right by elevator shaft and above breakfast room!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

This was the first leg of an 11 day stay on Sicily. This was a quirky little hotel, nice rooms, lovely staff, secure parking around the corner, beach outside, own allocated beds and umbrella. We stayed 5 days, and loved it. Scoglitti is lovely, very unspoiled, and every night from around 8 until 1am the locals come out and promenade - everyone, from babies to great-grandparents, all dressed up, walk around the town chatting and socialising- it was great to see. The food and wine in the hotel was very good.
Driving around Sicily is not for the feignt hearted - no-one takes any notice of the rules of the road, anything goes! It was a challenge, but we made it back unscathed!

Room Tip: All have a sea view, so no real pointers here.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisBAmersham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We have just returned from a lovely trip to Scoglitti staying in the Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare. Whilst this is not a 4 star hotel by Western European standards it exceeded our expectations with its charm and excellent, friendly staff. We chose a room with a sea view and terrace. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean. The bed very comfortable. The bathroom is fine, the shower is small but there is a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. The décor is tired and old fashioned, but this adds to the charm of the hotel, it is like stepping back in time. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful, even though we didn't speak Italian and they didn't speak English we all laughed and got our points across with odd words and gestures! Breakfast is a simple buffet style with quality over quantity products, which we much preferred to the usual neutral hotel buffet breakfast. The coffee is excellent. Included in the price are: sun beds and umbrellas; beach towels; wifi; beach activities, canoes, pedalos etc; secure parking; water in the room; beach bag; air conditioning, so no hidden charges on check out!. The resort is very unspoilt with some of the best fish restaurants we have ever eaten in. This is not a glamorous hotel or resort and is all the better for it, it retains a simple charm and it so relaxing, I can not recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace facing the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn-Katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews