We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and directly on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Scoglitti
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Not glamorous and no luxury features, but the rooms are large (even though the shower isn't), the team are very kind and very friendly, and the view from the bedroom (and Dining Room) balcony is beautiful. I slept with my balcony doors open to enjoy the sounds of the eaves - which are probably less than 100m from the balcony. Maybe better enjoyed out of season as the beach may get very busy in full season, but May and September this will be delightful.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityhoppa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

Nice hotel, clean and on the beach. Good staff - very friendly. The breakfast could use a bit of variation and I'd definitely go with rooms that are directly facing the sea rather than those with angled views/ balconies. Great plus is a central location but still having direct beach access.

Room Tip: Directly sea facing rather than those in the middle section with angled views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

pros : Location is amazing, so close to the beach and right in the city, Nice staff, ok Wi-Fi, rooms are well equipped (towel rack, lot of storage, nice size, fridge, extra pillows/blanket), good price
Cons : rooms haven't been updated for a long time, shower is tiny, A/C is noisy, don't leave food in the room, you will get ants, don't go to the hotel restaurant !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed there this month, lovely staff, we didn't have much Italian and the hotel didn't have much English but we got by! The first night our room wasn't great but thankfully they were able to move us to a nicer room. The hotel is on the beach and the lifeguards are really helpful setting up sun loungers etc., hotel supply towels etc so no need to bring beach towels. Very quiet place, no shops really so during the day not much to do but chill by the beach (not necessarily a bad thing!), if you're going to Scoglitti this is the best place to stay, staff a really friendly, the breakfasts weren't great, very basic, no eggs to order etc, but other than that I'd recommend!

Room Tip: Avoid room 142, very noisy as right by elevator shaft and above breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This was the first leg of an 11 day stay on Sicily. This was a quirky little hotel, nice rooms, lovely staff, secure parking around the corner, beach outside, own allocated beds and umbrella. We stayed 5 days, and loved it. Scoglitti is lovely, very unspoiled, and every night from around 8 until 1am the locals come out and promenade - everyone, from babies to great-grandparents, all dressed up, walk around the town chatting and socialising- it was great to see. The food and wine in the hotel was very good.
Driving around Sicily is not for the feignt hearted - no-one takes any notice of the rules of the road, anything goes! It was a challenge, but we made it back unscathed!

Room Tip: All have a sea view, so no real pointers here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisBAmersham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We have just returned from a lovely trip to Scoglitti staying in the Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare. Whilst this is not a 4 star hotel by Western European standards it exceeded our expectations with its charm and excellent, friendly staff. We chose a room with a sea view and terrace. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean. The bed very comfortable. The bathroom is fine, the shower is small but there is a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. The décor is tired and old fashioned, but this adds to the charm of the hotel, it is like stepping back in time. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful, even though we didn't speak Italian and they didn't speak English we all laughed and got our points across with odd words and gestures! Breakfast is a simple buffet style with quality over quantity products, which we much preferred to the usual neutral hotel buffet breakfast. The coffee is excellent. Included in the price are: sun beds and umbrellas; beach towels; wifi; beach activities, canoes, pedalos etc; secure parking; water in the room; beach bag; air conditioning, so no hidden charges on check out!. The resort is very unspoilt with some of the best fish restaurants we have ever eaten in. This is not a glamorous hotel or resort and is all the better for it, it retains a simple charm and it so relaxing, I can not recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn-Katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Really friendly staff and a brilliant location on a beautiful beach front make this hotel a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience.
Wifi works well throughout and out on the hammocks too.
Nice buffet breakfast with fresh fruit and pastries and delicious pastries not to mention the quality coffee.
Lunch and dinner lovely too. Room is clean, air conditioned, good shower and bottled water chilled in mini fridge daily.
The beach is perfect for young kids - safe little coves, attentive life guards who are great with children, same sun loungers reserved for you each day and complimentary use of all water and beach toys. Oh and the hotel gives you a stylish beach bag for your towels to boot.
Two thumbs up.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scoglitti
1.1 km away
Hotel Mida
Hotel Mida
#2 of 4 in Scoglitti
178 reviews
183.3 km away
Hotel La Battigia
Hotel La Battigia
#2 of 3 in Alcamo
389 reviews
20.8 km away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Villaggio Stella Marina
Villaggio Stella Marina
#3 of 4 in Scoglitti
297 reviews
28.1 km away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
0.8 km away
Agathae Hotel Residence
Agathae Hotel Residence
#4 of 4 in Scoglitti
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare

Address: Via Messina 52, 97019 Scoglitti, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Scoglitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Scoglitti
Price Range: $157 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of the main street a few meters from the square, church, shopping center and marina and fishing boat, The hotel is on the sea 20 mt. From the shore with fine sandy beach and natural bay marine pool type. Ideal for families and children. Restaurant on the sea with Mediterranean specialties based on fish and meat and catering for children. Rates include beach towels, beach service with umbrella and sun loungers, use of pedalo, canoe, bicycles, gym, sky room, parking, wi-fi and internet. Rooms with autonomous air conditioning and smart tv hd 43. Ideal center for excursions to Agrigento, Syracuse Catania less than an hour Noto, Ragusa Ibla, Modica, Scicli, Piazza Armerina, Enna, Caltagirone, Donnafugata Castle, Pine Nature Reserve Aleppo and the Amphitheater, Kamarina archaeological area and museum House of Montalbano 10 Km. Comiso airport 16 km Catamrano for Malta 30 minutes to Pozzallo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Gabbiano Hotel sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing