We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Go at 3pm!”

Dolphin Cove Cayman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Encounter Program: This program is specifically designed for young children, non- swimmers and those keen to get an up close encounter with a dolphin. Guests stand waist high in the water and interact with the dolphins. You will get to touch, kiss, dance, sing and learn all sorts of fascinating facts about your dolphin. The dolphins will also perform some high energy behaviors guaranteed to thrill and delight. No minimum age – however for safety reasons, young children must be accompanied by one adult per child. (Children under 11 years of age must be accompanied an adult). Dolphin Swim Program You will receive a life vest before getting into the deep water, where guests will get to interact, touch, kiss and enjoy an up close experience. You will get a thrill out of our famous belly rides, where you ride belly to belly with one of our amazing dolphins. At the end of your program, see your dolphins fly high in the air with their spectacular jumps. Minimum age 5 years or older and must be strong swimmers– however for safety reasons, young children must be accompanied by an adult. (Children under 11 years of age must be accompanied an adult).
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

We had an AMAZING time. First off, go to their website and use the live chat to ask for the daily deal. We were given 50% off to go to the Dolphin Cove (instead of Dolphin Discovery) at 3pm. We booked the Royal Swim package and LOVED it! I'm so glad we went to Dolphin Cove and at 3pm because no one else besides a family of 4 was there other than me and my husband!! We were the only two people to our two dolphins! I believe this is because Dolphin Discovery is more popular than Dolphin Cove and I think people on cruises are gone by 3pm.
We were the only two people to our two dolphins so it was like a private session! Our trainer was very friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. He made us feel very comfortable. We first got to pet our dolphins, Joy and Jake, as they swam by. Then one by one we swam to the middle and held our arms out. When the dolphins swam by we held their fins and they pulled us along! The next trick we got to do was my favorite. We laid on our stomach with feet flexed. The dolphins came up and each pushed on the balls of our feet and pushed us out of the water!
Swimming with dolphins has always been on my bucket list and this experience was more than I could have ever dreamed of!
Only downfall was the photos are expensive to buy. I thought our package included a free photo but they said it didnt. So I suggest bringing a photo copy for proof to make sure you receive everything in your package. I could have been wrong and it wasn't included since we received the 50% off deal.
Another note, I had a hard time before our trip figuring out the difference between Dolphin Discovery and Dolphin Cove. It is my understanding they are now owned by the same company. Discovery is by the Turtle Center and the dolphins are kept in tanks. Discovery is more crowded. Dolphon Cove is less popular and I'm not sure why. The dolphins there are not in tanks. They are in the cove.

1  Thank KKHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at Dolphin Cove Cayman.
We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your day and the dolphin activity was terrific, they are wonderful creatures!
We really appreciate your opinion and we are pleased that our services were as expected.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin encounter"
in 91 reviews
"stingray city"
in 118 reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 66 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 42 reviews
"dorsal tow"
in 12 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 34 reviews
"take pictures"
in 35 reviews
"sand bar"
in 12 reviews
"natural setting"
in 9 reviews
"bucket list"
in 21 reviews
"great excursion"
in 12 reviews
"cruise line"
in 14 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 21 reviews
"an excursion"
in 19 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 10 reviews
"great pictures"
in 9 reviews
"kiss"
in 131 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 959 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

My kids loved this! Getting to interact with the dolphins was amazing. Lots of different interactions. The staff were very friendly. Only downside - you can’t take your own pictures and they charge a FORTUNE for pictures. You get a lot of them, but still $$.

Thank CareyJ4738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear traveler,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to read that you enjoyed the dolphin program and you passed a nice time and the service from our staff was as expected.
We really appreciate your comments about our photo prices, listening to our visitors helps us to improve our quality.
On behalf of our team we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Do NOT go here. Dolphin experience ruined after not one but FIVE from six of us stung by jellyfish. We were 2 spectate groups, but no one warned about jellyfish. When we complained, staff not compassionate and focused on selling us photos! Asked to speak to manager/owner and not reachable. Ruined whole experience for us. Pharmacy, hot showers and scared kids later...AVOID this place please!!!!!

1  Thank rzxcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear traveler,

We thank you for your preference in selecting our facility Dolphin Cove Cayman for your dolphin experience and also for the sharing of your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that you felt the service from our staff was not as you expected, all your comments are well received, taken into account and will be shared with our management at destination, we will assess the mentioned areas to ensure our standards and protocols are consistently observed our client's safety and satisfaction is our first goal, however we would like to inform you that our location is on the sea and sometimes it is difficult to anticipate natural phenomenons like this.
For us, listening to our guests is the best way to improve our quality and take corrective measures where necessary.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

There are two major issues with this place -- first, they're not humane. They are a dolphin breeding organization that, instead of rescuing dolphins, breeds them in captivity for show. What's more disturbing is how the dolphins are treated. One should never, ever hold onto a dolphin's dorsal fin -- this is something the tourism industry has popularized at the expense of the dolphins they exploit.

Don't get me wrong, there are upstanding organizations where you can swim and play with dolphins -- the difference is, other organizations have rescued dolphins and ensure they are treated well (no holding onto the dorsal fin!). I strongly encourage folks to do a little background reading on how harmful this is to dolphins.

Secondly, this is a tourist trap through and through -- want to capture a picture with a dolphin? Well, you've been forced to literally lock away your cameras and phones, so your only option is to purchase a photo from Dolphin Cove. What'll that cost, you ask? Into the HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS. I am not even kidding.

Be warned.

2  Thank maryanny143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear visitor,

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Cove Cayman and especially for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We deeply regret that you felt our interaction programs was not as you expected, your comments are well received, taken into account and will be shared with the corresponding area, listening to our guests always helps us to improve our quality and take corrective measures where necessary.
We want you to know that we love dolphins and we love take care of them, our hábitats fulfill the proper regulations and we count with ALLIANCE certifications, also we have a program named Miracle to preserve the specie.
On regards to our prices they are based on the local market, however we will share your comments with our general office.
We invite you to discover our website where you can learn more about that and all the different things we do.
Dolphin Discovery appreciates your visit and hopes to see you again in order that we can improve your experience.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

George and Copernicus and his buddy were amazing. This turned out to be waaayy better than we expected. The “royal swim” package is the way to go!

Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear traveler,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to read that the dolphins activity exceed your expectations and you had a memorable day.
The interaction with these magnificent mammals is one of the most wonderful experiences in a lifetime and we are so pleased you have lived it with us.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Cove Cayman also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Cove Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing