We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Dolphin ana string ray

We did the dolphin encounter and string ray. My kids were not old enough to swim with the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
chadcW2322DR
via mobile
Dream fulfilled in an expensive way!

The day was perfect. Out of the Royal Caribbean Ship on time, we took a bus. Then we were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
P4299UFHelloDFW
,
Grand Prairie, United States
Read all 966 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around West Bay
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$300.00
More Info
from US$750.00
More Info
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
674
173
54
25
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
173
54
25
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolphin encounter stingray city swim with the dolphins once in a lifetime dorsal tow take pictures an amazing experience sand bar bucket list sting ray great excursion cruise line an excursion fun experience turtle farm great pictures highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 966 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

My kids loved this! Getting to interact with the dolphins was amazing. Lots of different interactions. The staff were very friendly. Only downside - you can’t take your own pictures and they charge a FORTUNE for pictures. You get a lot of them, but still $$.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CareyJ4738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear traveler,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to read that you enjoyed the dolphin program and you passed a nice time and the service from our staff was as expected.
We really appreciate your comments about our photo prices, listening to our visitors helps us to improve our quality.
On behalf of our team we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Do NOT go here. Dolphin experience ruined after not one but FIVE from six of us stung by jellyfish. We were 2 spectate groups, but no one warned about jellyfish. When we complained, staff not compassionate and focused on selling us photos! Asked to speak to manager/owner and not reachable. Ruined whole experience for us. Pharmacy, hot showers and scared kids later...AVOID this place please!!!!!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank rzxcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear traveler,

We thank you for your preference in selecting our facility Dolphin Cove Cayman for your dolphin experience and also for the sharing of your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that you felt the service from our staff was not as you expected, all your comments are well received, taken into account and will be shared with our management at destination, we will assess the mentioned areas to ensure our standards and protocols are consistently observed our client's safety and satisfaction is our first goal, however we would like to inform you that our location is on the sea and sometimes it is difficult to anticipate natural phenomenons like this.
For us, listening to our guests is the best way to improve our quality and take corrective measures where necessary.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

There are two major issues with this place -- first, they're not humane. They are a dolphin breeding organization that, instead of rescuing dolphins, breeds them in captivity for show. What's more disturbing is how the dolphins are treated. One should never, ever hold onto a dolphin's dorsal fin -- this is something the tourism industry has popularized at the expense of the dolphins they exploit.

Don't get me wrong, there are upstanding organizations where you can swim and play with dolphins -- the difference is, other organizations have rescued dolphins and ensure they are treated well (no holding onto the dorsal fin!). I strongly encourage folks to do a little background reading on how harmful this is to dolphins.

Secondly, this is a tourist trap through and through -- want to capture a picture with a dolphin? Well, you've been forced to literally lock away your cameras and phones, so your only option is to purchase a photo from Dolphin Cove. What'll that cost, you ask? Into the HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS. I am not even kidding.

Be warned.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank maryanny143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear visitor,

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Cove Cayman and especially for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We deeply regret that you felt our interaction programs was not as you expected, your comments are well received, taken into account and will be shared with the corresponding area, listening to our guests always helps us to improve our quality and take corrective measures where necessary.
We want you to know that we love dolphins and we love take care of them, our hábitats fulfill the proper regulations and we count with ALLIANCE certifications, also we have a program named Miracle to preserve the specie.
On regards to our prices they are based on the local market, however we will share your comments with our general office.
We invite you to discover our website where you can learn more about that and all the different things we do.
Dolphin Discovery appreciates your visit and hopes to see you again in order that we can improve your experience.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

George and Copernicus and his buddy were amazing. This turned out to be waaayy better than we expected. The “royal swim” package is the way to go!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear traveler,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to read that the dolphins activity exceed your expectations and you had a memorable day.
The interaction with these magnificent mammals is one of the most wonderful experiences in a lifetime and we are so pleased you have lived it with us.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018

My Girlfriend and I visited Dolphin Cove as part of a Excursion package purchased through a cruise we had taken to Grand Cayman. We had a wonderful time with Albert the Dolphin. The experience package was great and I wish we had purchased the swim package. Carmen, Albert's trainer, was very friendly and knowledgeable. She was very great with Albert and answered all of our questions. We also had a very good time on the sting ray city adventure which may or may not be directly related to Dolphin Cove. The reason I decided to write this review and felt that I had to give only 3 of 5 points was that the pictures were VERY EXPENSIVE. My Girlfriend and I were traveling on a budget and wished we could have had pictures to remember the occasion. I had no issue with not being allowed to take our own pictures and the photographer did take excellent photos. I was very disappointed that the prices for their packages were so expensive for a digital copy (print offs were not even an option). I would love to see Dolphin Cove consider reducing the cost for their picture package, and would consider visiting again on future cruises if so.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank gamecocks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear user,

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Cove Cayman and especially for having the time to tell us about your experience.
We are pleased to know that you and your girlfriend enjoyed the full dolphin experience and your day was plenty of memorable moments.
On the other hand we regret to hear about the disappointment with the photo prices, be assured all our client's comments are well received, taken into account and they will be shared with the corresponding area, nevertheless it worth to mention that our photo prices are based on the local market.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the pleasure to assist you again in the near future.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews