We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and lovely beer garden”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Henfield
Price range: US$1 - US$35
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located just north of Henfield, this traditional style pub welcomes the whole family (including the dog!) and is a must visit for fans of Pizza!This pub is certainly a must visit if you enjoy pizza. With over 20 different varieties of freshly baked gourmet toppings, plus the chance to design your own, all tastes will be well catered for. The portions are also very generous, with the large 12" pizzas being large enough for 2 people, or 1 very hungry person! Pasta, salad, burgers, BBQ wings, ribs & chicken also feature on the menu if pizza doesn't take your fancy, plus the children's menu is also extensive. Don't forget the specials board too!The spacious & beautiful beer garden is an ideal space to dine al fresco during the summer months or just to relax & enjoy a cold pint of beer, glass of wine or soft drink in. There is also a children's play area which the kids can enjoy whilst the parents sit back & rest. In the winter, the log fire helps to keep the insides of the pub cosy.There is also a skittle alley & function room available for adult and children’s parties, gatherings for family and friends, club and business meetings, christenings, weddings and wakes. Mother and toddler groups can also be accommodated during lunchtimes. Complete with its own music system, private garden and patio area and can be hired as room only, or with the skittle alley and buffet menu.
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Great little pub with huge beer garden with lots of seating.

Huge pizza menu with great freshly cooked pizza. Delicious!

Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

It's great to hear you enjoyed the beer garden and your pizza. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The bull inn originally came up when searching online for a dog friendly place to eat when visiting West Sussex for a few days with our English setter. On arriving we immediately felt comfortable, the staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The village locals that were there also immediately started chatting to us as they were at the bar with a couple of dogs laying underneath the bar stools (dogs are always a good conversation starter). If someone would have walked in 10 minutes after us they would have presumed we were one of those locals.
My wife and I both ordered a pizza as we haven't had a good pizza for ages, so took the gamble. Wow. We both agreed that these were the best pizzas we have ever had in the uk.
When we go away, we never eat at the same place twice, always like to experience new places and people. We can no longer say this as we agreed we must come back......so we did....the following night before we travelled home. This time we both had pasta dishes. Again stunning food , excellent value and tasted even better.
Will definitely be returning next time we visit West Sussex.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your generous review! We're very pleased that not only our staff made you feel welcome but our regulars as well and we'll be sure to pass it on! We're looking forward to welcoming you, your wife and your dog back next time you're visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We booked the function room as have been to the Bull a lot over the years and the pizzas are the best.

We came early to set up and the staff are all very helpful.

We had paid to have food and the pizzas were fab as usual. The pizza bread sticks with garlic mayo and the quackers pizza are def the highlight!

Everyone had a lovely time, even my very cheeky puppy!

The staff on Saturday night really were amazing, sorry I wish I knew your names!

Will keep coming back to The Bull.

The skittle alley is a nice extra too.

Thank noproblemjamaica08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and will make sure to pass on your feedback to our Saturday team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We initially drove past The Bull but were 'forced' to turn around due to the amazing aromas emanating from the place!
Interesting to note that they serve food all day on Sundays so no closed kitchen at 2 like most other places.
Very friendly and polite staff and we ordered drinks at the bar and then shown our table and left with their very extensive menus.
They have an amazing selection of homemade pizzas plus other dishes if you're not normal!!
I went for the 12" large Meatfeast which I only just managed to finish! My wife went for the Shermansbury Salmon - also amazing.
Although I had no room, treacle tart with cream or ice cream, my favourite was on the menu so no debate and quickly ordered. My wife choose the apple and raspberry crumble with ice cream.
For drinks, we had 2 ginger beers and a fin and tonic and the total bill was £45 which was very good value based on the high quality of the homemade fayre.
Highly recommended.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're pleased you and your wife enjoyed the food and service provided. We always enjoy receiving positive feedback which we will ensure to pass along to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We had a family function here. Lots of safe outdoor play for kids and function room. Great variety of pizzas, lovely staff and great beers.

Thank BeeGee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 August 2017

Many thanks for your review. We're glad your family function went well and that you enjoyed the pizzas and beer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Cowfold, Horsham District
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing