We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and awesome views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with sofabed and great beach view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with sofabed and great beach view
Living/dinning area with plasma screen TV Private beachfront balcony perfect for morning coffee of cocktails!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Living room with sofabed and great beach view
Living/dinning area with plasma screen TV
Private beachfront balcony perfect for morning coffee of cocktails!
Fully equipped kitchen with all major appliances including dishwasher and washer/dryer
Master room with king size bed and beach view
Second bedroom with two Queen beds and beach view
The beach is this close to the villa!
One of three beachfront pools located just steps from the villa
Another view of pool area
View from villa
Ocean Villas building to the left and beach to the right.  Yes, we are that close to the beach!
Free lounge chairs and umbrellas by the pool.
Infinity pool
Lap pool
Beautiful grounds
Infinity pool
13 tennis courts at the resort!
two 18-hole championship golf courses at the resort
Panoramic view of villa
Golf Club House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brad B
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome views!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are a family of five who stayed over four days after a cruise. We wanted something away from the party atmosphere of San Juan, and boy did we find it! We were here in the middle of September and we are pretty sure we were one of two condos that were occupied while we were there. We were there during the peak of hurricane season, so we knew there wouldn't be a crowd of people there, but wow! We had the pool to ourselves every time we went down.

We were only 30 minutes from the airport in Ceiba where we took a 15 minute flight to Culebra. We purchased airplane tickets on Air Flamenco the same day and only paid $45ish a person each way. We spent the day on Flamenco Beach and had a blast. A drive through El Yunque is a MUST. Leaving Rio Mar, an entrance is directly across Hwy 3. We only spent an hour or so driving through a couple of the falls and a climb up a tower with great views. A half or full day could be spent here hiking. Beautiful views and great scenery.

The food in the area is amazing. We were close to an Amigo grocery store and Walgreens - which is right across from our favorite place to have breakfast and lunch - La Familia Bakery 2 (#1 on TripAdvisor for Rio Grande restaurants. The pastries are great but the SANDWICHES are AWESOME. We also ventured to the Luquillo Kiosks, which were packed on the weekend and pretty cleared out (and only half were open) during the week. We used TripAdvisor to pick out the ones we wanted to try. Cool experience. Great place to buy souvenirs, too. We ate dinner one night at Don Pepe's - at the entrance to Rio Mar from Hwy 3. DELICIOUS food and really fun, cozy and unique atmosphere, but be prepared to wait an hour and a half for your food. It's worth it though. The only "eh, it was okay" meal we had was in a restaurant in the Wyndham hotel next door.

The view alone is worth the stay. The view from the balcony - watching the sunrises and sunsets - Amazing! We explored the area and found it to be absolutely stunning. The grounds are very well kept and so very tropical and lush. Xavier was more than accommodating before and after our stay. We didn't require assistance during our stay - everything was very well planned before our arrival! The condo was clean and met our needs. We didn't spend much time there, but we did watch a little TV, used the WiFi and both worked without issue. Xavier and his team were wonderful to work with and we'll certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony!
Liked least: No ice maker in fridge, but there's an ice machine on the first floor. If this is the worst thing, then we're in great shape, right?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisalisa3...
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ocean Sixteen Villa 262”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented a 2 bedroom villa in the Ocean Sixteen complex from Xavier for the first week of July. The booking was easy and the communication was good. When we arrived, we had a couple of issues, but nothing that ruined our vacation. First off, the positives: The villa was beautiful! Getting to the resort from the airport was a breeze. The location of the Ocean Sixteen villas is perfect, in my opinion, because we don't like crowds. We had one pool at our complex which was usually empty, but were able to access the pools at the main resort, which was a nice walk down the beach. Obviously, the pools at the main resort are busier, but there is a small waterslide in one of them, which the kids liked, as well as an adult pool. We had no problem getting chairs when we were there, even on the beach there were guys who would set them up for you. There is a good selection of restaurants at the resort, and the food was decent. Being from Chicagoland, we are used to excellent food, so none of the food here really blew us away. The kids love Shimas (Japanese cuisine) and Iguanas (Puerto Rican cuisine). It's pricey, but most resort food is. We never had a problem getting in anywhere. There is a grocery store (Amigos) pretty close to the resort, as well as a Walmart within 15 minutes, which was convenient for picking up necessities. The villa was set up with only the basics to start, so you'll want to pick up extra toilet paper, paper towels, detergent, garbage bags, ect, when you get your food. Kitchen was pretty well stocked as far as dishes and pans. Linens and beach towels are provided in the unit, but if you're going to the resort you can leave the towels at home and utilize the towel service there (have to leave them your VIP card which you'll get back upon return of towels)
Here are the things that could be improved: When we arrived, there was a little confusion about the parking situation. This was my fault, though, as the confirmation email said to stop at the concierge at Ocean Villas building, and I went right to Ocean Sixteen instead. (The concierge desk is located in the last building before you get to the Ocean Sixteen gate, and has the circle driveway.) I called the concierge, though, and was given the villa # and directions to get the keys. Once we got settled in, we walked down the beach to check out the resort and restaurant options. There are a few options as far as getting to the resort. You can walk the beach, there are sidewalks along the beach, or you can walk the sidewalks out in front of the buildings. Our family really enjoyed walking back and forth everyday for lunch and dinner, and it might have taken us 10 minutes each way. It's a nice walk. Beware, though, if you decide to drive, you'll have to pay to park in the garage (they charge by the hour) or use the expensive valet service (like $26!!) When we walked there the first time, we came in off the beach and through the pool area. Upon arrival, we were informed by their security that we would need bracelets/ VIP cards to access the amenities. This was a surprise to us, as we were told we would have access to everything and bracelets were never mentioned. Security said we could use the restaurants no problem, but would need VIP cards or bracelets for the pools and spa. We contacted the concierge at Ocean Villas, and were told that the resort has never requested that before, but that they would get it taken care of. By the next day, they got it straightened out and we had our bracelets, which allowed our family to use the resort pools and the gym. The lady at the concierge desk and maintenance guy were both very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the kitchen sink leaking on the second day, and the maintenance guy came right away. Within a day the faucet was repaired. A slight inconvenience, but those things happen and it was handled promptly.
Overall, we loved this property! Everyone agreed that they'd love to come back. The location and views are unbeatable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, views
Liked least: check in/getting access to everything was not easy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura M
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Much better than a Hotel!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

These villas are on the property of the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Hotel, and you have access to their facilities, but staying in a villa is MUCH better than staying in a hotel! The villas are clean & have a full kitchen, so you save tons of money eating a few meals in, you have free covered parking in an underground garage, space to spread out in separate bedrooms & bathrooms, no daily hold on your credit card for "incidentals", there are 2 pools, a hot tub & baby pool for villa guests only, and all villas are beachfront with spectacular views! The beach, pools & grounds are beautiful and the location can't be beat. There is no charge for chairs, umbrellas or towels at the beach or pool. Mr. Cautino owns several villas & is the rental representative for several others. There is a concierge and a maintenance man for guests booking through Mr. Cautino who are very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, underground parking, uncrowded pools
Liked least: That I had to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay at our villas. Warm regards, Xavier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnParkRi...
Park Ridge IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful condo, view and location - would definitely go again”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The condo was fabulous. Great view, clean and comfortable. Cannot beat the location to get around too. It was one of the nicest vacations we have had. Sept was a nice month to go, incredibly quiet - of course it is hurrican season - but fortunately we lucked out and had beautiful weather all 10 dys. Exchanged emails with the manager beforehand and got great directions from airport (we rented a car), was met by a very pleasant manager who ensured we were settled in. Very nice to have free parking right across from the condo building too with an assigned spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely condo and view
Liked least: cooking utensils, pots & pans, forks/knives/spooons, were very sparse and what was there was really worn.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soisaidto...
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for everybody”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Rio Mar

The condo is awesome with a fantastic view of the Atlantic. We used two of the three bedrooms, which were big enough to comfortably sleep our family of five. 

We had use of the complex's pool, which was 200 yards from the beach. The Rio Mar Resort is bit farther. The larger pool and its activities attracted our kids (15, 13, 10). While you need a membership from the condo owner to  use the Rio Mar pool, we were able to use it but not exchange for fresh towels. Use of the washer and dryer were a definite advantage.

We enjoyed the condo and felt safe there. The parking lot is gated with a guard on duty. Except for explaining how to get the condo key, there wasn't any information about the property or the Rio Grande region. 

So here's what we learned:

- the aptly named Amigo grocery store down from the Rio Mar Resort on Route 3 will be your friend. Buy food and alcohol there. Buy lotions, shampoos and other personal products next door at the Walgreens.

- the Rio Mar Resort concierges are helpful. We stayed here 3/26 - 4/2, which was the height of spring break. The Bio Bay tour was sold out for a week. Other tours seemed available, but you may want to book in advance of your stay.

- Rio Mar Resort offers a series of restaurants. The best was The Grille, an Argentine-style restaurant housed in the clubhouse. Lucas, the manager, does a great job of offering the best food we had on the property.

- Richie's, the restaurant at the top of the mountain, is okay. The view is less than inspiring. If you feel you need to see it, order a drink and skip the food.

- La Estacion, just past the entrance to El Conquistator, is spectacular. We had awesome ribs (though careful how you order, they are huge) and a blackened swordfish that was  light and with just the right amount of wang to it. Bring cash as it doesn't take credit cards. We also recommend Don Pepe. A nice break of Mexican food after a string of steak dinners.

- There is an area off of Route 3 near the resort known as the Kiosk, which is essentially a row of restaurants. While they may look sketchy, we had a great meal at the Burger Shack and La Parrilla came highly recommended.

- As a rule, please double check your restaurant checks. Multiple times we found over charges that needed to be corrected.

- We tried zip lining and enjoyed it through Zip Line Rain Forest, which is across the resort from Route 3. It offered enough adventure to satisfy us first timers.

- El Yunque Rain Forest is a cool place to visit. The waterfalls, trails and vistas were fun to see. It was even better on the rainy day we went.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Pool amenities
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing