We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay”
Review of Link House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Link House
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is a real find in the Lake district, a very nice place , well appointed B+B , but more than anything , it seemed impossible for the couple running this place to not show a caring approach to everything , the quality of the welcome , the breakfasts , the neat and tidy rooms with lovely views ,the relaxed attitude shown , the help on offer -- we had a car breakdown during our stay and found ourselves being driven by the B+B owner to a restaurant in the evening ! Its hard to find an issue with that level of kindness . I can wholeheartedly recommend Link house to anyone looking for a comfortable stay . Chris Wilson

Room Tip: We were in room 2 looking over Sale Fell , it was lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Chris,
Thank you for your kind words. WE could not believe how quickly your five days seemed to pass and are so pleased that you are already planning next years visit. The leaves are now beginning to turn so the colours over the next few weeks should be fantastic.
We look forward to meeting you both again and thank you once again for the really kind review.
Best wishes,
Pete & Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

I cannot recommend Link House enough . The place is great, lovely and clean and the owners are really friendly and helpful. Particularly nice touches were a cup of tea on arrival and making fried bread specially for my partners breakfast. Link House is in a great location at the top of Bassenthwaite lake and just a few minutes drive from Keswick and cockermouth

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shebabah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Guys and thank you for the great review.
It was lovely having you stay with us and we hope you are already making plans to visit us again, perhaps when you are not at a wedding so that you have a little more time to explore this great area.
Best wishes,
Pete & Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Lovely B and B run by a very friendly couple. 1minute off the A66. Away from the hustle and bustle but only 8 miles drive to Keswick and 6 to Cockermouth . Very easy to get to all the little towns and villages then a sanctuary to come back to. Lovely and clean and warm. Beautiful breakfast . Owners are lovely . Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your really kind review. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Best wishes,
Pete & Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Fabulous guest house and great location. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Lovely crisp white bedding and very comfortable beds. Best of all were the owners, they are so friendly and helpful they made our stay. Thank you !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 114viccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Wow,
Three fantastic reviews in one day has really made our day. Your party were such a friendly bunch and to hear everyone chatting over breakfast really brings the house to life.
It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we hope like some of your friends that you are already thinking about a return trip sometime soon. Remember we are open all year so it would be lovely to see you.
Best wishes, Pete & Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

What a lovely place to stay. The lovely new owners created us with a friendly smile and a cuppa. The rooms were spotless with crisp clean bedding and lovely firm beds. After a lovely nights sleep breakfast was delicious and a marvellous choice. We are already planning on returning with the children this time!

Room Tip: Call them direct it's cheaper than booking with booking.com
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shellymac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to have you and your friends stay with us and to hear that you are already planning your return trip with family we take as a real compliment. We look forward to meeting you all again soon and once again thank you for the really kind review.
Best wishes, Pete & Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great B&B owners were lovely and really helpful. Breakfast was spot on as was our room, spotless and comfortable. We stayed here for a wedding at Armathwaite Hall, which is a few minutes drive away. It's also a great location for walking and the local pub the pheasant is fab too!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sazzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. I am sorry to have taken so long to reply to you but we seem to have never stopped since your visit. It was a real pleasure having you and your friends stay with us and we hope to see you all again soon. Once again thank you so much for the great review.
Best wishes, Pete & Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Stayed two nights at Link House, couldn't have been made to feel more welcome, so much choice for breakfast and beautifuly prepared and cooked, great views, and walks on the doorstep, and a walk to pub/restaurant a short stroll away, this place is a little gem and very easy to find.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pitkin707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Link House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

It was lovely to read your review and to note that you got home again safely. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and as we already said either flying or taking the train to Carlisle or Penrith then hiring a car or getting the X5 bus to our front door the whole of the lakes is in easy reach of even yourselves from London for a lovely weekend escape.
I hope you are already planning your next one as we look forward to welcoming you back to explore further.
Best wishes, Pete & Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.6 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,727 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.1 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
554 reviews
7.9 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
720 reviews
5.8 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Link House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Link House

Address: | Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $113 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Link House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Link House is a late Victorian Country Guest House, situated on the edge of Bassenthwaite Lake, near the Cumbrian towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, with stunning views of both forests and fells. Traditionally built in the late Victorian age, this country house enjoys stunning views of the forest and surrounding fells including the 3046 feet Skiddaw. The sunny aspect gives a warm and comfortable atmosphere in which to relax and feel at home. We are situated almost half-way between the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, birthplace of William Wordsworth and the oldest town in Cumbria, just off the A66 at the northern tip of Bassenthwaite Lake. Link House is easy to find. In the quieter part of the Lake District National Park, yet with access to many interesting places to visit such as the Whinlatter Visitor Centre where the Ospreys who nest nearby each year, can be viewed. A peaceful location for the serious walker or for touring by car or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Link House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Link House Bassenthwaite/Keswick, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing