We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Sicilian holidays”
Review of Galatea Sea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galatea Sea Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Acitrezza
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
204 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good place for Sicilian holidays”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Recently renovated, with amazing views, great swimming pool, immediate and private access to the sea with a good location in one of the better parts to stay just outside Catania. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, we were in an apartment so didn't get daily maid service, but this had been clearly described. The 4 person apartment was described as having a sea view, but in the end didn't which was disappointing, along with the day staff who were rather unfriendly, unsmiling and not particularly helpful. The night staff however was very helpful, Salvo and Massimo doing a great job. However unfriendly the day staff were when we had an issue with the air conditioning it was fixed very quickly and the engineer was very friendly and funny. The only major issue we had was that we were underneath the restaurant outside seating area and on a few hot days there was a lot of noise from the restaurant till the early hours, but to be honest we were coming back around that time and it wasn't too much of a problem but for a family with children it could have been. At the end of the day it's a lovely hotel, in a lovely place with good amenities, with some friendly day staff it could be outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    57
    26
    19
    7
See reviews for
28
48
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Lovely Hotel, family friendly especially those with children, there is loads of space, modern rooms, and the staff were ever so nice, I fully recommend it, but please take the car with you or hire one because the buses there are a disaster, sometimes they are on time, or else you are left waiting for ages anywhere you go in Catania transport is unbearable. To go to a couple of restaurants outside the hotel the road is pretty dangerous, it takes about 20 minutes and there are no pavements. But all in all I will surely come back with my husband and my son to this hotel in our car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed there 2 nights on a weekend. The hotel is one of the many barely legal buildings on the coast North of Catania - i.e. built closer to the seashore that the law allows - but fortunately the amount of concrete spread on such a beautiful coastline has not done the same damage as in other cases. It's basically a huge low-rise hotel designed for summer vacation and winter events: weddings, christenings, and communions. The entrance of the hotel is very bad indicated: if you come by car there's no sign at all and you have to press on a ringer with no sign on it, only to hear the staff surprised when you ask them if you're at the right place. The room is OK, very clean, quite big, hard-core lovers of '70s style would probably love the green furniture with pink bedsheets and the whole decoration. The hotel beach is a joke, as the hotel is actually by the sea but it's not a sand beach, it's a black rock coast. The breakfast was decent. The real problem with this hotel is the staff, who is probably the dumbest I've ever seen. When we arrived (by car, with luggage, and it was raining) we were told by the staff to park the car about 100m from the entrance to bring our stuff in and check in, only to discover that they could have directed us to an underground parking from where a lift (25m from the lot) directly goes up to the reception. We asked the staff why they didn't tell us and they answered that the lift only operates if they use their key (why???), obviously they could have come with us but they didn't think about it. We had an issue because the aircon was too cold and there is no remote, but even at a decent time of the day (6pm) the staff didn't even understand what we were talking about. I can't imagine how much more talented they would have been if I weren't Italian.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homme_Libre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acitrezza hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Wow! What a steal for the 50 euros a night! I booked on www.booking.com and stayed sep 2-6. This property doubles as a hotel for business travel, and families. The outside of the property does the inside NO justice. The room itself was very spacious AND seaview, heck all the rooms are seaview as the hotel is located literally right at the foot of the ocean! The bed was extremely comfortable. There is a great hotel located in the hotel and i believe breakfast was included with the price of our rooms (if not, i think it's 5-8 euros per day). the breakfast is wholesome (not just bread) and includes the works: eggs, prosciutto, fromagio, a variety of cereals, yogurts, fruits, bread, drinks, etc. something for everyone. There is a business center/internet, etc. Lastly, the staff was exceptionally friendly, tremendously helpful, professionall, spoke english and did everything to please the guest! I'm big on service and boy did they aim to please. There is a bus stop right outside of the hotel near the restaurant so this is excellent for traveling guests. Don't fret, the location of the hotel is situated such that you don't see the street or hear any noises so no worries about the noise polution caused by traffic. I liked the idea of bus stop because we were traveling all over it was extremely convenient. Overall, this was a full-service hotel for a fraction of the cost! Totally exceeded my expectations.

The property is located in Acitrezza which is about 20-25 minutes outside of Catania and is on the coast. It's a beautiful small town outside of Catania so u get the best of both worlds. There are tons of restaurants, bars, etc on the water so there's plenty to do in the evenings. It's really a lovely town and just 5 minutes from Acireale, 45 minutes from Taormina and about 1 hour from Siracusa. Since Catania was our Eastern Sicilian base for excursions (day trips) to Mount Etna, Taormina, Syracuse (southern region), staying at the Galetea in Acitrezza was very convenient (and CHEAP) to cover all those grounds. I don't remember if there was a spa or a gym because we went out everyday. The hotel is family friendly and business traveler friendly. Our room had a/c, TV, hair dryer and kitchenette style with fridge and stove top. The grounds and pool area were very pristine. Lots of chairs near the ocean area for relaxing, sunbathing and dipping in the ocean. Really lovely views.

To no fault of the hotel, I realized after the fact that I mistakenly booked at a cheaper rate on booking.com which meant that we didn't have maid service everyday but honestly it was fine because we were only there a couple of nights and because we had a room for 4 people (and it was only two of us), we just alternated beds and besides the hotel gave us fresh towels anyway so it's almost as those we had maid service. It was really no big deal because we're not slobs but we saved 30 euros per night so that made it that much better!! If you want maid service it's extra and just make sure you carefully read what you book. Overall, I quickly came to realize that Sicily is an "a la carte" island so I got used to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinebaptiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I found the staff very friendly and very helpfull,the room was very nice,but there was nothing to make a cup of tea/coffee which I found odd.But once I said that to the staff they asked if I wanted to move to a studo which evreything I needed ,So happy days.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewbridgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We thought this hotel was fantastic, couldn't disagree more with the reviewer who said the staff were rude. Everyone we met were helpful and smiley. The hotel is quiet and about a 10 min walk down quite a busy road to Aci Trezza (where there are plenty of really nice restaurants) but it's an easy walk and we went there most evenings. The hotel is spotless and if you're after a relaxing holiday this is the place (nice pool and you can also swim in the sea from the hotel decking) Restaurant and bar are reasonably priced too, recommend it highly!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

The hotel is ok nice location and rooms are ok to the price. The problem with this hotel is the staff.
When we booked is stated that they were close to a basketball court and mountain bikepath and other aktivities.
The staff had no clue about where any of this stuff was and did in no way try to help us. not just with the aktivities but also with restaurants and clubs there was no help. The lady at the front desk even had the nerve to hint that we should go to a mcD. cuz she thought we were americans and cuz of my size would fit in there. Not the treatment one would expect any where in the world and sertainly not a a 4* hotel.
It was very clear that we were not wel liked. Eventhough we in no way caused problems.
Only nice thing was housekeeping the were rely nice specially the australian lady super nice.
I would not recoment this hotel to my enemy
Christian
Denmark

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrille12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acitrezza
1.5 km away
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
#5 of 5 in Acitrezza
21 reviews
4.8 km away
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
1,043 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lachea
Hotel Lachea
#5 of 11 in Aci Castello
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
President Park Hotel
President Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Aci Castello
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#6 of 8 in Acireale
145 reviews
1.6 km away
Marina Palace Hotel & Congress Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatea Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatea Sea Palace

Property: Galatea Sea Palace
Address: Via Livorno 146, 95021 Acitrezza, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello > Acitrezza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Acitrezza
Hotel Class:4 star — Galatea Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Galatea Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Sea Palace Acitrezza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing