We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location & Excellent Experience at Woodbox”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristin L
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location & Excellent Experience at Woodbox”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 families (8 total - 4 teen boys plus parents), and Woodbox worked out great for us. The house was a perfect layout for us. Each bedroom has it's own bath. Parents on first and third floors, and teens all on the middle floor. Woodbox is well equipped (kitchen, surf/boogie boards, bikes, coolers, beach chairs, laundry facilities…) and we felt comfortable and at home.

We had a driver take us from the airport to a coffee plantation tour arranged by Fabrice. Great way to start out. We arrived at Woodbox that afternoon to settle in and relax. The welcome meal package was a great way to start - with dinner the first night and the first breakfast. Food was beautifully presented, delicious and so fresh. Thanks Pascam! We also had Fabrice grocery shop for us ahead of time and that worked out great.

We did have cars delivered after our arrival and we were very glad. You need a car to get around, and driving was no problem. We got around fine, and got ourselves back to the airport when we left (DO allow two hours at the airport to complete the necessary paperwork - lines were long).

Fabrice was an excellent concierge. He was very responsive and helpful, and planned several adventures for us. His recommendations were spot-on from the coffee tour, to volcano hike and mudbath/hotsprings, Palo Verde, and local zip lining. We also appreciated his restaurant suggestions. Our favorites were Villa Deveena (awesome food and wine list), Guacamaya Lodge, and Amigos (fish tacos). Fabrice worked with the construction crew next door to keep noise at a minimum, and they were respectful.

The beach is a short walk (5 minutes) and it is extraordinarily beautiful, and not crowded! Sunsets were amazing. We agreed that we'd go back here in a heartbeat.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Greetings John,

Thank you for the nice review of our home, Casa Woodbox, and our fabulous team. We are grateful for their commitment in providing a five star experience to our guests.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, be well, and happy travels!

Michael and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSq
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great House but in Construction Zone”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have been traveling for President's week with our children all over the world for many years. This year we choose Costa Rica and the Woodbox as we were seeking to get away from the noisy crowded resorts we normally are accustomed to seeing during this week. We were very excited to have some real solitude and relaxation off the beaten path.

First, I will say that the house was very nice and although the photos they show make it appear larger than it really is (especially the pool) overall the house is excellent. Probably the only complaint we have about the house itself is the showers change from very hot to very cold constantly and without any reason we could figure out.

One night we also enlisted the use of their Chef which was outstanding to say the least and enjoyed a great meal for us and about a dozen of our guests who are frequent visitors to the area.

The problem came in when we first pulled up and our excitement was dampened by a large construction zone immediately next door. It seemed that in a world of "emptyness" the only new construction project going on was a big house about 25 feet away from the Woodbox.

I immediately voiced my concerns to the concierge and was told it wouldn't be a bother. Well for something that "wouldn't be a bother" we were forced to listen to construction all week long from Sunday morning through when we left. Each day the construction would start at 6am and not end until dark which made any enjoyment of the outdoors impossible.

We voiced our concerns many times and were just met met with false statements that it would be "kept quiet" which it wasn't.

I am most upset that we were never advised about any of this prior to booking and due to that I feel we were not dealt with in an honest fashion from the owner or concierge.

I rarely write a bad review, and honestly the house itself does not deserve a bad review, but the lack of honesty in making us aware of this situation which would have obvious repercussions on our visit was extremely disappointing.

I should be submitting a stellar review right now but unfortunately that is not the case due to the lack of honesty and the trip that was spoiled by it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home was very nice.
Liked least: Constant construction immediately next door and the lack of notification about it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Greetings Robert,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at our home in Costa Rica, Casa Woodbox. I hope you received my messages and am sorry we have not had the opportunity to discuss your experience. As I am sure you can see from previous reviews on multiple sites, this is the first time we have ever had a guest leave our home without being absolutely thrilled with their experience.

We take great pride in our home, the team at the property, and the fantastic community. Clearly you experienced issues during your stay related to the work next door. It absolutely was not our intention to hide anything and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Our entire team takes great pride in helping our guests create fantastic memories with their families and friends, which include a relaxing and peaceful environment. We will be in touch with our neighbors to coordinate their home construction to ensure no further noise issues with our guests in the coming weeks. It is our understanding the home construction will be complete in nine weeks.

I'd like to again extend my sincere apologies and would love the opportunity to discuss your experience with you.

Thank you,

Michael Mettler
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik R
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's Hard to Believe - But This Place Is Better Than It Looks”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Just before Thanksgiving, my wife and I invited 7 friends/family (ages 30-40) to join us in Costa Rica. We really didn't know much about this house other than what we saw on the Internet, but we couldn't have been more satisfied with our choice.

It started from the very first e-mail exchange with the owner Michael. He was so accommodating and helpful it really put us at ease. He helped line everything out in advance so that we really had zero concerns when leaving for Costa Rica.

Once we arrived the amazing service continued with his house manager Fabrice. We arrived in the evening and he was at the house waiting to give us the grand tour. Fabrice had already communicated with us via e-mail before our arrival and had a good idea of activities to help us plan. We snorkeled, zip-lined, surfed (sort of), beached at Lola's, hiked a volcano, took a mud bath, watched sea turtles come to shore and lay eggs, enjoyed the local fish truck and local restaurants (ask about the Patacones), had a private chef cook dinner for us at the house - and he was involved all the way. He checked on us almost daily and made sure that every last detail was covered.

And - I haven't even mentioned the house yet! I wish all vacation rentals worked out like this. The three stories of living worked perfectly for our group. Nine adults and we never once felt crowded. All the rooms are very well kept and they get cleaned daily by the maid service (a fantastic feature). The bathrooms are all plenty big and there are plenty of them. The outside patio on the second floor and poolside are perfect for relaxation. The house has WiFi and it was robust enough to handle 9 adults with smartphones, iPads FaceTiming with the many children we all left behind and laptops for work. We always felt safe and outside of a few local howler monkeys we would have felt like we were the only people in our own private neighborhood. Oh and by the way - the house is in close proximity to three or four great beaches (whether you just want to relax, or if you want to swim/surf).

The house comes outfitted with everything you need and would be especially family friendly. After visiting we realized we could have easily brought our four kids with us and would have had no issue whatsoever. The house has bikes, snorkel gear, surfboard, pool, grill, fully furnished kitchen and I even noticed a few Pack-N-Play type playpens in the house for those that may have younger kids. The air conditioning takes the edge off the humid afternoons and pool is always kept clean with regular pool service.

If you spend some time to read the guestbook you will find that we were not alone in our experience. If you are looking for a place to stay in Costa Rica, STOP LOOKING. Just book this one. I can't imagine how you would not have a fantastic stay at Woodbox!

Thank you Michael and Fabrice for helping all of us create a trip/memory that we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of service was unbelievable and we really never expected it considering we were renting a house and not staying at a hotel or resort.
Liked least: We arrived just after the rainy season ended and the roads were full of potholes which slowed things down. Ironically on the day we left for the airport the trucks had just arrived to fill all of them in.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlr1048
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect house for a family get together”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second stay and once again, we were not disappointed. It is just as it appears on their website. All of the house is air conditioned which was important in July. The furniture indoor and out is very welcoming and comfortable. The manager lives next door and is very responsive. The bikes and helmets were an added benefit. The kitchen has all that you need and there is a grocery store nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The couches around the pool. Lots of space and very comfortable.
Liked least: I wish it was on ocean front property but then I couldn't afford it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elenacrea...
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have stayed in Villa Woodbox for almost a month and a half. What a delight it was! The villa itself is extremely convenient, homey and well designed. It is absolutely perfect for extended family. The best thing about the villa is it's location. It is a bit far from Tamarindo (30 min drive) and we did not regret this a bit. Once or twice a week we traveled to Tamarindo to buy groceries as they have a bigger Automercado market stuffed with the familiar goods (They have everything you need there). Tamarindo has a slew of good restaurants, however we found that it was a bit hectic there. Villa Woodbox's location is off the beaten path and fits perfectly for those who want the best beach time as you can barely see anyone while swimming in the ocean. The villa is stuffed with everything you need, even for such extended stay. Special thanks to the management, Fabrice and Patie. They are the nicest and most accommodating people. It was such a pleasure to deal with them. They accommodated all of our requests, organized our trips and made us feel very welcomed there. The beach is just 5 min walk and you can encounter monkeys and iguanas just steps from the villa. The owner is extremely easy to deal with. Thank you, Michael , for sharing your wonderful villa with us. We fell in love with great country of Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Our suggestion is to rent a car if you want to explore this wonderful country. Be aware of traffic fines ($ 600.00).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPBowden
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing house off the beaten path!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Woodbox is an incredible house and perfectly tailored for those seeking a quite stay in Costa Rica. It is less than a 5 minute walk down to the beach for strolling and taking in wonderful sunsets. The house does come with a few bikes, which makes getting to the small market very manageable with a 15 minute bike ride (for those who don't want to rent a car). Michael is extremely easy to communicate with and responds to all emails/inquires very quickly. And Fabrice, the house concierge, is extremely accommodating. The kitchen has every you need to cook your meals, as we did daily...and the gas grill outside is perfect. All the bedrooms have plenty of space with ceiling fans and wall mounted air-conditioners. And I must say that they beds themselves got comments from everyone, as being very, very comfortable. Thank you so much for opening your home to us for the week!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds & pool area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing